What to read in 2013

books

For the past two years I have been participating in the Goodreads reading challenge. In 2011 I challenged myself to read 30 books, but because I was so busy with course work etc. I only managed to read 20 books. This year I again challenged myself to read 30 books, and I was determined to reach my goal this time. I had finished by September, and upped my goal to 40. So far I’ve read 42 books, so I’ve more than succeeded in the reading challenge this year. My only dilemma now is to decide how many books I want to challenge myself to read next year.

Since 2012 is drawing to a close, and I don’t believe that the world is going to end 10 days from now, I believe it’s time to start thinking about my to read list for 2013. Not that I want to be really anal about it and make an actual list – or maybe I do, I haven’t decided yet – but it can never hurt to give it some thought. I never make a real plan about what I want to read, and I don’t read my books in a certain order either, but I do like to strike the right balance between different genres. The books that I’m going to read will include at least some classics, historical fiction, Middle East related books, and some non-fiction. I think it’s very important to read a wide variety of books, to prevent reading from becoming boring. Not that I think reading is ever boring, but it definitely shouldn’t feel like a chore that you need to finish no matter what. Also, if you feel like you’re having trouble actually starting to read all the books that you want to read, it might be a good idea to give it some thought beforehand so you can get started straightaway as soon as the champagne corks pop. Okay maybe not immediately. Best wait a day until the bubbly induced hangover wears off. And then dig in, because reading is fun!

So far, this is what my to read list for 2013 looks like:

  • Blackberry Wine – Joanne Harris
  • A Feast for Crows – George R.R. Martin
  • The Favoured Child – Philippa Gregory
  • The Gaze – Elif Shafak
  • Honour – Elif Shafak
  • The Casual Vacancy – JK Rowling
  • The Museum of Innocence – Orhan Pamuk
  • A World Without Islam – Graham E. Fuller
  • A Dance with Dragons – George R.R. Martin
  • Monsieur Ibrahim et les fleurs du coran – Eric-Emmanuel Schmidt
  • Fall of Giants – Ken Follett
  • The Age of Innocence – Edith Wharton
  • Bleak House – Charles Dickens
  • Dromen van een Arabische Lente – Petra Stienen
  • Life of Pi – Yann Martel

I’m always open to more reading suggestions, so if you know of a good book that you think is a must read please let me know!

2 thoughts on “What to read in 2013

    1. You’ve got a great reading list for the coming year as well! I’m really looking forward to Life of Pi, I’ve had it on my to read list for years now, but still haven’t found the time to read it. I hope you’ll enjoy the Hunger Games trilogy. I read the books first and then saw the film, but I can understand that it must be confusing to watch the film without having read the books. It wasn’t a bad film, but they left out some pretty important stuff which made the film difficult to follow at times.

Leave a Reply

