Review: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

11Title: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
Author: Douglas Adams
Published: September 27th 1995 (originally 1979)
Publisher: Del Rey
Pages: 216
ISBN: 0345391802
Synopsis
Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.

Together this dynamic pair begin a journey through space aided by quotes from The Hitchhiker’s Guide (“A towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have”) and a galaxy-full of fellow travelers: Zaphod Beeblebrox–the two-headed, three-armed ex-hippie and totally out-to-lunch president of the galaxy; Trillian, Zaphod’s girlfriend (formally Tricia McMillan), whom Arthur tried to pick up at a cocktail party once upon a time zone; Marvin, a paranoid, brilliant, and chronically depressed robot; Veet Voojagig, a former graduate student who is obsessed with the disappearance of all the ballpoint pens he bought over the years. (Goodreads)

Review
So many people have recommended this book to me, so I felt that I needed to read it to see for myself if I liked it. And I can safely say that there’s only one word appropriate enough to describe this book, which is bonkers. Totally, completely, and utterly bonkers. I enjoyed reading it, though I don’t think it will ever be one of my favourites. It had its brilliantly funny moments but, in spite of it being such a short book, there were times when I really struggled to pay attention as to what was going on. There were a few, how shall I put it, dull moments squished in between a lot of hilarious ones.

I had no idea what to expect of this book, so I was pleasantly surprised. Normally I don’t like sci-fi at all – though I make an exception for Doctor Who – but for me Hitchhiker’s falls somewhat into the same category. It’s more sci-fi light, meaning that it is set in outer space, but other than that it doesn’t take itself all that seriously, which I love. I’ll definitely read the other parts of the series at some point.

So all in all an enjoyable read, but not one to put on my favourites list.

My rating: heartheartheartheart

Leave a Reply

