End of the Year Book Survey

This is my first survey on this blog! It was created by Belle of the Literati, and I copied it from The Girl and her Books.

Best In Books 2012

1. Best Book You Read In 2012?
Can I pick two? Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris, and My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
I thought that The Storyteller of Marrakesh would be brilliant, but it wasn’t. It was an enjoyable read, but just not as good as I’d hoped.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012?
Game of Thrones. I thought it wouldn’t be my kind of book at all, but I loved it!

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?
Peaches for Monsieur le Curé, everything I’ve read by Elif Shafak, and A Song of Ice and Fire

5. Best series you discovered in 2012?
A Song of Ice and Fire

6. Favourite new authors you discovered in 2012?
Elif Shafak, George R.R. Martin

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?
Game of Thrones

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?
I couldn’t put down the Divergent and Hunger Games series, and Pillars of the Earth. Also Kingdom of Strangers by Zoe Ferraris, which was the third in a series that I’m reading and it was amazing.

9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:
I usually don’t re-read books, not because I don’t think they’re worth a re-read, but because I’ve still got so many books left to read. But if I had to choose one, it would probably be Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2012?
The cover of The Bastard of Istanbul is gorgeous.

11. Most memorable character in 2012?
Vianne Rocher. I’ve loved that character since I first read and watched Chocolat when I was about 12 years old, and Peaches for Monsieur le Curé brought it all back. Vianne’s one of my alltime favourite fictional characters.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?
My Name is Red

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012?
Daughter of the East, Benazir Bhutto’s autobiography.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?
Jane Eyre. I started reading it about two years ago and, even though I loved it, I stopped reading at some point. I don’t even know why I did that. But I finally finished it over the summer and I’m so glad I did. It’s an amazing book.
15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012?
– “Great persons, like great empires, leave their mark on history”. (from
Desert Queen: The Extraordinary life of Gertrude Bell)

“Democracy is the best revenge”. – Benazir Bhutto
– “The world does not move through time as if it were a straight line, proceeding from the past to the future. Instead time moves through and within us, in endless spirals. Eternity does not mean infinite time, but simply timelessness”. (from
The Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak)

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012?
The shortest is The Angel’s Kiss: A Melody Malone Mystery, with just 80 pages. The longest is A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin, 1177 pages long.

17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It?
Not a particular scene, but the book I was dying to talk to someone about was Mornings in Jenin. After much nagging my mum finally read it, and we discussed it for quite some time afterwards.

18. Favourite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).
Ned and Catelyn, A Song of Ice and Fire.

19. Favourite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously
Peaches for Monsieur le Curé by Joanne Harris.

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:
Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2012

1. New Favourite Book Blog You Discovered in 2012?
I discovered so many great ones, but some of my favourites are Books, biscuits and tea, Northern Plunder, Stepping Out of the Page, and The Girl and her Books.

2. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
None

Looking Ahead…

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2012 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2013?
A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin and The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. And I really want to read The Shadow of the Wind.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2013?
I’m looking forward to The White Princess by Philippa Gregory, the last in the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth, and I’m hoping that either Jenny White or Zoe Ferraris will write another book in their respective series.

3. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging In 2013?
Explore more wonderful books and meet many more lovely book enthusiasts.

Leave a Reply

