On My Bookshelf (1)

onmybookshelf

This is a brand new, weekly meme that I want to introduce on this blog. Each time I’ll highlight one book that remains on my shelf, still unread and impatiently waiting to be picked up. Not only am I addicted to reading, but I’m addicted to buying books as well, so I won’t run out of material to show you anytime soon.

This week’s book is The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton, which I bought at a second hand book market in Amsterdam back in October. The reason why I haven’t read it yet is very simple: I just haven’t had time for it yet. But I will definitely read it this year for the woman author challenge I’m participating in.

photo (7)

Synopsis:
Winner of the 1921 Pulitzer Prize, The Age of Innocence is Edith Wharton’s masterful portrait of desire and betrayal during the sumptuous Golden Age of Old New York, a time when society people “dreaded scandal more than disease.”

This is Newland Archer’s world as he prepares to marry the beautiful but conventional May Welland. But when the mysterious Countess Ellen Olenska returns to New York after a disastrous marriage, Archer falls deeply in love with her. Torn between duty and passion, Archer struggles to make a decision that will either courageously define his life—or mercilessly destroy it. (Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

