Top Ten Tuesday (1)


TTT3WThis is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and I thought it was a fun meme so I decided to give it a go.

This week I’ve picked Top Ten Favourite New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2012. I discovered quite a few new authors in 2012, and I loved broadening my horizons by reading new authors and different genres.

  1. Suzanne Collins – I read the entire Hunger Games trilogy last year and I really enjoyed them. Before that I’d never heard of Suzanne Collins before, so I was pleasantly surprised when I read her novels. 
  2. Susan Abulhawa – So far she’s only written 1 book, Mornings in Jenin, which is already on my list of alltime favourite books.
  3. Jonathan Safran Foer – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is one of my favourite reads of 2012, and I really admire the way he managed to write from the perspective of a young boy. It reminded me a bit of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, even though it’s a completely different sort of book, but both are written from a young child’s perspective.
  4. Stephen Fry – Even though I’ve been a fan of Stephen’s for years, I’d never read any of his books before last year (shocking, I know). Making History is a lovely book which deals with a lot of questions I’ve often asked myself as well.
  5. George R. R. Martin – When I first heard people talking about the A Song of Ice and Fire series I thought that it wouldn’t be my thing at all. It wasn’t until a colleague kept nagging me to give it a go that I decided to buy the first book. And I’m so glad I did, because I love his writing style. I’m already on the 4th book now!
  6. Orhan Pamuk – His writing style is so beautiful and poetic, and My Name is Red (the first of his novels that I read) is a masterpiece. Most of his other works are on my to read list now.
  7. Fouad Laroui – He was one of my professors at uni last year, and he’s a really brilliant guy. I read one of his novels, Une année chez les français, over the summer and absolutely loved it. It was nominated for the Prix Goncourt in 2010.
  8. Ken Follett – My dad’s been pushing me to read his books for years now, and last autumn I finally gave in and read Pillars of the Earth. I wish I’d done it years ago because it’s a brilliant book.
  9. Elif Shafak – My favourite new author of 2012. Everything I’ve read by her so far is absolutely brilliant, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of her books.
  10. Veronica Roth – I discovered her Divergent series because I noticed that so many people on Goodreads were reading them. I thought both books were great and I’m eagerly awaiting the third installment!
Leave a Reply

