Top Ten Tuesday (2)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

This week I’ve picked Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read, because let’s face it, we’ve all got a list of books we should read but haven’t (yet).

  1. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – I do own this book, and have done for years, but I still haven’t had the courage to try and actually read it.
  2. Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert – It’s one of those books everyone ought to have read, only, you may have guessed it, I haven’t.
  3. Ulysses by James Joyce – It’s such an intimidating book, even when you just look at it. It’s still staring at me from a prominent place on my bookshelf.
  4. The Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz – They’re classics in Middle Eastern literature and I feel that I really should read them.
  5. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell – I tried to read Ruth last summer but I just couldn’t finish it, and I haven’t tried any of Gaskell’s other novels ever since.
  6. Middlemarch by George Eliot – This is another book that I’ve got on my bookshelf, and it’s one of those classics that you should read. I’ve heard lots of great things about it, so I should give it a go one of these days.
  7. Le deuxième sexe by Simone de Beauvoir – I’m a great admirer of Simone de Beauvoir, which makes the fact that I haven’t read her famous work yet even worse.
  8. The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Záfon – Everyone I know who’s read this book keeps urging me to read it, and I’m really curious now because it’s supposed to be so good.
  9. Any of the Sherlock Holmes stories – I’ve read some of Arthur Conan Doyle’s short stories, so I can’t believe I still haven’t read any Sherlock Holmes stories. Shame on me.
  10. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – The book Reading Lolita in Tehran discusses this book in detail and made me really curious about the book. It is one of those classics that everyone is supposed to have read.
Leave a Reply

