On My Bookshelf (4)

onmybookshelf

In this weekly meme I will highlight a book that remains on my shelf, unread and impatiently waiting to be picked up. 

This week’s pick is The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. I’ve had this book for at least 3 years, and if I’m honest I’m not even sure why I’ve never read it. My initial reason for taking it off the shelf at Waterstone’s is because I really liked the cover. When I read the synopsis I thought it sounded interesting, so I decided to buy it. Since then it’s been on my bookshelf, and has moved house with me 3 times in as many years, but I still haven’t read it. Considering that I’ve set myself the task to read as many of the books that I own this year, and that I’m trying to buy as few books as possible, I should definitely give this one a go sometime this year. The fact that I’m participating in the woman author challenge this year gives me another reason to read it.

image

Synopsis:
A foundling, an old book of dark fairy tales, a secret garden, an aristocratic family, a love denied, and a mystery. The Forgotten Garden is a captivating, atmospheric and compulsively readable story of the past, secrets, family and memory from the international best-selling author Kate Morton.

Cassandra is lost, alone and grieving. Her much loved grandmother, Nell, has just died and Cassandra, her life already shaken by a tragic accident ten years ago, feels like she has lost everything dear to her. But an unexpected and mysterious bequest from Nell turns Cassandra’s life upside down and ends up challenging everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

Inheriting a book of dark and intriguing fairytales written by Eliza Makepeace – the Victorian authoress who disappeared mysteriously in the early twentieth century – Cassandra takes her courage in both hands to follow in the footsteps of Nell on a quest to find out the truth about their history, their family and their past; little knowing that in the process, she will also discover a new life for herself.

image (1)As you can see, no room left!

3 thoughts on “On My Bookshelf (4)

  1. This book sounds really interesting! I hope you enjoy it :). Oh and I wanted to tell you have you heard of a scholar called Tariq Ramadan? He teaches at Oxford University and he’s actually coming to my university to give a talk next month! I’m really excited for it. I’ll let you know how it is.

      1. Yup! He’s doing an Ontario wide talk and we were lucky to nab him. I’m excited for it. I’m interested to hear his thoughts on the Arab spring and what not :). And for sure I’ll definitely let you know how it is!

Leave a Reply

