On My Bookshelf (5)

In this weekly meme I will highlight a book that remains on my shelf, unread and impatiently waiting to be picked up. 

onmybookshelf

 

This time it’s a book that I haven’t read yet not because I’ve been putting it off, but because I’m waiting for my mum to finish it and she tends to read a lot slower than I do. The book I’m referring to is The Girls of Riyadh by Rajaa Alsanea. Back when we got the book I read a few pages of it to see what it was like, and it seemed really interesting so I can’t wait to actually start reading it. I’m going to try and read it sometime this year so it can contribute towards my goal of reading 11-15 books for the woman author challenge.

1476261

Synopsis:
A bold new voice from Saudi Arabia spins a fascinating Scheherazade-like tale of four young women attempting to navigate the narrow straits between love, desire, fulfillment, and Islamic tradition-for the first time, the hidden world of today’s upper-class Saudi women is revealed by an insider. (Goodreads)

Gamrah’s faith in her new husband is not exactly returned …

Sadeem is a little too willing to please her fiancé …

Michelle is half-American and the wrong class for her boyfriend’s family …

While Lamees works hard with little time for love.

The girls of Riyadh are young, attractive and living by Saudi Arabia’s strict cultural traditions. Well, not quite. In-between sneaking out behind their parents’ backs, dating, shopping, watching American TV and having fun, they’re still trying to be good little Muslim girls. That is, pleasing their families and their men.

But can you be a twenty-first century girl and a Saudi girl? (Amazon)

 

 

2 thoughts on “On My Bookshelf (5)

Leave a Reply

