Top Ten Tuesday (4)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

My topic for this week is a top ten of one of my favourite genres, if you can call it a genre at all: Top Ten Favourite Novels about the Middle East. I use the term Middle East loosely, because when it comes to my favourite novels about the Middle East I also include North Africa and Afghanistan, Pakistan, and India.

2049640 The Bastard of Istanbul – Elif Shafak

1038088 The Septembers of Shiraz – Dalia Sofer

7964402 My Name is Red – Orhan Pamuk

77203 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

7603 Reading Lolita in Tehran – Azar Nafisi

6488741 The Night of the Mi’raj – Zoë Ferraris

7671183 Mornings in Jenin – Susan Abulhawa

1451107 The Sultan’s Seal – Jenny White

6361937 Born Under A Million Shadows – Andrea Busfield

6688712 The House of the Mosque – Kader Abdolah

What are your favourite Middle Eastern reads?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (4)

  1. Yay for The Kite Runner and Reading Lolita in Tehran! I haven’t read anything but Orhan Pamuk, but I have heard great things about his writing. I might have to look his books up sometime. I just saw Burn under a Million Shadows yesterday it does sound really interesting. Great List! Ohhh and Tariq Ramadan’s talk was really awesome. He said some really interesting things :).

    1. Born Under a Million Shadows is such a great book, I can definitely recommend it. It’s written from a child’s perspective which I love. And I’m glad the Tariq Ramadan talk was good! I’d love to hear more about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

