Book Haul (4)

Hi everyone, hope you’re all enjoying your weekend 😀 I’ve been in the Netherlands this past week, and today I finally managed to visit my favourite second hand bookshop in Amsterdam. Unfortunately their prices have gone up quite a bit recently which I was a bit disappointed about, but I still managed to get myself 2 great books so I’m happy.

shadow-of-the-wind  the_blood_of_flowers

Carlos Ruiz Zafón – The Shadow of the Wind
Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author’s other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written. In fact, Daniel may have the last of Carax’s books in existence. Soon Daniel’s seemingly innocent quest opens a door into one of Barcelona’s darkest secrets–an epic story of murder, madness, and doomed love.

Anita Amirrezvani – The Blood of Flowers
In 17th-century Persia, a 14-year-old woman believes she will be married within the year. But when her beloved father dies, she and her mother find themselves alone and without a dowry. With nowhere else to go, they are forced to sell the brilliant turquoise rug the young woman has woven to pay for their journey to Isfahan, where they will work as servants for her uncle, a rich rug designer in the court of the legendary Shah Abbas the Great. Despite her lowly station, the young woman blossoms as a brilliant designer of carpets, a rarity in a craft dominated by men. But while her talent flourishes, her prospects for a happy marriage grow dim. Forced into a secret marriage to a wealthy man, the young woman finds herself faced with a daunting decision: forsake her own dignity, or risk everything she has in an effort to create a new life.

The bookshop had many more great titles that I’d love to have, but like I said their prices have gone up significantly and I don’t feel like paying €11 for a second hand book that’s not in mint condition. The books I bought were €7 each which I think is already pricey, but they’re both in very good condition so I thought they were worth it.

Have you bought anything nice this week?

2 thoughts on “Book Haul (4)

  1. I’ve heard really good things about The Shadow of the Wind, so I do hope you enjoy it! The Blood of Flowers sounds so beautiful! Enjoy your books. Were you able to email Peachtree Publishers yet?

    1. One of my best friends has practically bullied me into reading The Shadow of the Wind because she loved it so much, so I am really excited about that one. The Blood of Flowers is a book that’s been on my wishlist for so long so I’m really happy to have found it finally 🙂

      My life’s been a bit hectic these past few weeks so I’ve not emailed Peachtree Publishers. It’s a pity, but that’s life I guess. I will still upload my review of The Garden of my Imaan on the publication date!

Leave a Reply

