Top Ten Tuesday (6)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s topic is: top ten words/topics that will make me pick up or buy a book!

It’s funny how some words or topics can trigger your interest in such a way that you want to buy the book, regardless of what the actual story is about.

Turkey
I think Turkey is such a fascinating country, and it’s very high on my list of places I want to visit. So any book that is set in Turkey or the Ottoman Empire immediately attracts my attention.

Tudor
I think it’s safe to say that I’m obsessed with Tudor history, and I just adore Tudor court novels so I try to read as many Tudor novels and history books that I can get my hands on.

Gothic
One of my favourite genres, especially when it comes to classic literature, is the Gothic novel. I just love the dark, gloomy, spooky vibe.

Iran
Iran is another country that I think is really fascinating. It has such a long, complicated, and rich cultural history, and it’s also high on my list of countries I’d like to visit.

Books
This one might seem a bit odd (or perhaps not at all), but I love reading books that are about mysteries revolving books or people’s love for books. The Shadow of the Wind is a good example of that.

Religion
Although I am not a religious person myself, I do find religions fascinating and I like reading and learning about them. I have a special interest in Islam, but I like reading about Christianity and Judaism as well.

Antihero
I’m not one to swoon about stereotypical heroic main characters. I like rooting for the underdog, so when the character you’d least expect it from becomes the hero of the novel that’s bound to make me love the book.

Middle East
Anything about the Middle East. Fiction, non-fiction, historical texts, I’m pretty much obsessed with it.

Philippa Gregory
I buy all the books she’s ever written, and I pre-order every new one that comes out.

Murder Mysteries
Let’s be honest, who doesn’t want to be on the edge of their seat until the very last pages of a book when you finally find out who did it?

So these are my 10 picks. What are yours?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (6)

  1. Iran definitely is a word that makes me pick up/look at books. I have to read The Ayatollah’s Democracy that I bought a while back. I know that I studied Turkey but I feel like I need to learn more about to totally be interested in it. Does that make sense lol? I do love books about Antiheroes as well. However my experience with such a character is a bit different because the antihero is such a vile and disturbing person (I’m referring to Jorg from The Broken Empire Trilogy, which I has my undying love), but I’m interested in reading other books with antiheroes.

    You should check out The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan. I’m not sure if its your thing, but it its a love story told in dictionary format. Have you read The Book Thief? You might like that one as well!

    Great list Philippa!

    1. Thanks for commenting Savindi! Turkey and Iran are two of my favourite countries to read about. I just love countries with a long and rich history, and I’m especially fond of the Ottoman Empire. I’ll be adding The Ayatollah’s Democracy to my tbr pile as well, it sounds interesting.

      I just looked up the Lover’s Dictionary and it sounds good, so I’m definitely putting it on my to-read list. I’ve still not read The Book Thief, but it’s been on my to-read list for a while now so I should try and read it sometime soon!

      1. Ahaha you should have come to my University. We did an entire course on The Ottoman Empire which was really interesting. Have you watched the show No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain? He went to Turkey and the cuisine seems so amazing lol.

        I hope you enjoy both books!

      2. Haha yes, the more I hear about the courses taught at your university, the more jealous I become. That sounds just amazing! I’ve seen some bits of the No Reservations show, but sadly not the part about Turkey. I just adore Turkish food, it’s so delicious 🙂

        By the way, have you read “Iran: Empire of the Mind”? It’s about about the history of Iran, dating back to Zoroastrian time up until the present day. If you haven’t read it I can definitely recommend it. It’s a really interesting book.

      3. Oh you should watch the episode on Istanbul. I think you’d really like it. I’ve never really had Turkish food to be honest. There’s this one dish I want to try and I might spell it incorrectly. It’s called Lamahjun? I might have butchered the spelling, I’m sorry about that.

        And no I haven’t read that book. It sounds interesting! There’s another book I want to read called Patriot of Persia: Muhammad Mossadegh and a Tragic Anglo-American Coup. Have you read that one?

      4. I’ve not read it, but it’s on my to-read list!

        And I’m not sure about the spelling either, I think it’s spelled Lahmacun? In Dutch we usually just call it a Turkish pizza which is a lot easier 😀 It’s really yummy, but because of my gluten allergy I can never order it when we’re eating out. Though I tried to make it myself once and it was pretty tasty.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday (9) | eat, read, explore

Leave a Reply

