Top Ten Tuesday (7)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books When You Need Something Light & Fun. This was actually much more difficult for me than I had expected. When I really started to think about the books that I usually read, I realised that most of them can’t be described as either light or fun. So I’ve compiled a list made up of a few light & fun reads, and a few books that I found easy reads but aren’t necessarily light & fun.

1. A Murder is Announced (Miss Marple #5) – Agatha Christie
2. Doctor Who: Evolution (Virgin Missing Adventures #2) – John Peel
3. Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling
4. Fifty Shames of Earl Grey – Fanny Merkin
5. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
6. A Tiny Bit Marvellous – Dawn French
7. An Utterly Impartial History of Britain or 2000 Years of Upper Class Idiots in Charge – John O’Farrell
8. The World According to Clarkson – Jeremy Clarkson
9. Things Ain’t What They Used to Be – Philip Glenister
10. Mrs. Fry’s Diary – Mrs. Stephen Fry

So there you have it. Some funny, and some utterly silly books, but also a few more serious ones. I wouldn’t classify the Harry Potter series as light reading, but they are books I fall back on when I just want to relax and read something I know I’m going to enjoy, which is why I added them to the list.

What are your preferred light and fun reads?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (7)

    1. Hi, thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂 Hitchhiker’s is just so funny, I should definitely read the other parts soon because so far I’ve only read the first book.

      Your list is great too. I especially agree with the Alexander McCall Smith books which are lovely.

  1. Ah, one of these days I’ll read HITCHHIKER’S GUIDE. Actually, my dad says he taught me to read with it but I don’t remember that far back!

Leave a Reply

