Book Haul (5): Summer Reads

Hey everyone 😀 I’m back from my holiday and I had a fab time, but more about that later in a separate post. Book-wise I’ve had a very lucrative two weeks, with no less than 4 new books 🙂

16115612 0704301873.02.LZZZZZZZ silent_house_PB.285x448_1353336443_crop_285x448 wise-woman

And The Mountains Echoed – Khaled Hosseini (bought)
Women of Sand and Myrrh – Hanan Al-Shaykh (swapped)
Silent House – Orhan Pamuk (bought)
The Wise Woman – Philippa Gregory (bought 2nd hand)

Even though I took my Kindle on holiday with me, I just couldn’t resist buying a few books as well. And The Mountains Echoed and Silent House I got at the airport, so I was already lugging 2 books around before my holiday had well and truly begun. At the appartment we were staying at they had quite a lot of books lying around, and you were allowed to take one and leave something else behind, so that’s how I got Women of Sand and Myrrh. And finally The Wise Woman I bought during one of our daytrips when we happened to come across an English bookstore that sold lots of second hand books as well.

I’ve already finished And The Mountains Echoed, so a review of that one will be up soon. I lreally ove Khaled Hosseini’s writing style, and this one definitely did not disappoint.

So that’s all from me for now. Did you buy any new books lately?

One thought on “Book Haul (5): Summer Reads

  1. It doesn’t seem to matter how high the TBR is, being anywhere near a bookshop id dangerous!

    Last week Jonathan Coe visited our bookshop, so of course I had to buy a couple of his books The Rain Before It Falls and The Rotters Club and in order to read a little more widely I just subscribed to Peireine Press, so I now have two novellas waiting to be read The Mussel Feat and Mr Darwin’s Gardener.

    Not to mention that recent visit to London and Foyles and the London Literature Festival! Just as well I live in the south of France and most of the bookshops are full of french language volumes I rarely dip into 🙂

Leave a Reply

