Book Adaptations: The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

white_queen_promoI am usually a little wary about book adaptations for the simple fact that it’s very hard to get it right, and also because it’s extremely difficult to make it to everyone’s taste. Very often books get made into films, and in my opinion it’s almost impossible to do a book justice in just 90 minutes. And on top of that screenplay writers or directors often have the urge to change rather important parts of the book or leave them out entirely, which annoys me to no end. And this is exactly why I didn’t enjoy the previous Philippa Gregory adaptation, The Other Boleyn Girl. I dislike that film with a passion, which is why I was rather nervous about the adaptation of The White Queen. 

I needn’t have worried though, because I absolutely loved the first episode! The fact that they’ve turned it into a TV series rather than a film was a clever move, because it means that they can go into much more detail and stick closer to the book’s storyline. Hats off for the cinematography by the way, because the images are absolutely stunning. The actors have been very well cast in my opinion, especially for the roles of Elizabeth Woodville, Jacquetta Rivers and Lord Warwick.

The first episode was slow paced and allowed for the viewers to familiarise themselves with the storyline and the characters, and it made the first episode very pleasant and clear to watch. Of course I don’t know how much of the story is immediately clear to people who haven’t read the book and aren’t familiar with the history of the Wars of the Roses, but it seemed to me that it wasn’t too difficult to follow.

Of course I’m already looking forward to next week’s episode, and here’s to hoping that the series will be a success and that maybe, just maybe, the other books in the Cousins’ War series will be adapted for television as well 😀

3 thoughts on “Book Adaptations: The White Queen by Philippa Gregory

  1. I was actually thinking about you when I saw that another friend had posted about liking it on facebook. I actually didn’t get through The Other Boleyn Girl,but I didn’t hear very positive things about the movie, so I’m glad that the White Queen was much better. I always wonder why books need to be turned into movies when there are perfectly good mini series adaptations. I hope you enjoy the rest of the series Phillipa!

    1. Which one didn’t you get through, the film or the book? I think it’s a real shame that the fim didn’t work out because they had an amazing cast, so it wasn’t for lack of quality. It was just too rushed and they felt the need to deviate from the book far too much. It would’ve worked much better as a mini series.

      What first struck me about The White Queen is that (for now at least) they’re sticking very closely to the book. Of course I’ve noticed a few small changes, but it’s impossible to stick very rigidly to the book because that just doesn’t work, so that’s okay. So far so good, and I hope they keep up the good quality.

      Thanks for commenting! 😀

      1. The movie. I haven’t read the book. That’s a shame that the film deviated a lot from the book. I hate it when that happens, it really ruins the story.I agree the cast was great though. The White Queen is a BBC production right? BBC always does such good adaptations. Their Great Expectations Adaptation was also very well done :).

Leave a Reply

