Review: And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini

16115612Title: And The Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Published: May 21st 2013
Publisher: Riverhead Hardcover
Pages: 404
ISBN: 159463176X

Synopsis
An unforgettable novel about finding a lost piece of yourself in someone else.

Khaled Hosseini, the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns, has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations.

In this tale revolving around not just parents and children but brothers and sisters, cousins and caretakers, Hosseini explores the many ways in which families nurture, wound, betray, honor, and sacrifice for one another; and how often we are surprised by the actions of those closest to us, at the times that matter most.

Following its characters and the ramifications of their lives and choices and loves around the globe—from Kabul to Paris to San Francisco to the Greek island of Tinos—the story expands gradually outward, becoming more emotionally complex and powerful with each turning page.

Review
It’s been nearly 2 weeks since I finished this book, and all this time I haven’t been able to write a proper review for it. And why? Simply because I just didn’t know where to start. Because it’s Khaled Hosseini I just knew that I was in for a treat. I was sure that he would once again have written a beautiful book. And I wasn’t about to be disappointed. I suppose that in my flailing, fangirling, inarticulate way of putting it, I thought the book was amazing.

And The Mountains Echoed is one of those rare book which sucks you right into the story from page 1, and won’t let you go until you’ve finished the entire book. And even then you carry the characters and their storylines around with you for days. It gave me one of the worst “book hangovers” I’ve suffered from in quite some time.

I now know that some people feel unhappiness the way others love: privately, intensely, and without recourse.”

It is quite hard to review a book without giving anything away with regards to the plot, which is something I really don’t want to do because I think this is one of those books everybody needs to discover by themselves. The book follows a few different storylines that are partially intertwined, but also partially follow their own course which isn’t necessarilly related to the main plotline of the book. The book centres around one main family, its descendants, and other people whose lives they touch one way or the other. Each character is as beautiful and interesting as the next, and as a reader you yearn to learn every last detail about their lives.

J’aurais dû être plus gentille—I should have been more kind. That is something a person will never regret. You will never say to yourself when you are old, Ah, I wish I was not good to that person. You will never think that.”

As many other people have already pointed out, Hosseini is a master storyteller and he has once again managed to write a fantastic, beautiful, tragic, heart breaking, but also heart warming book about love, friendship, and loyalty. It shows life both at its best and at its worth, and I think this is the particular strength of this book. It shows life the way it is, not only the good but also the bad bits.

I learned that the world didn’t see the inside of you, that it didn’t care a whit about the hopes and dreams, and sorrows, that lay masked by skin and bone. It was as simple, as absurd, and as cruel as that.”

You know you’re reading a quality book when you try to keep putting off finishing it for as long as possible, simply because you just don’t want it to come to an end. This is definitely what happened to me with this book, because I just wasn’t ready to say goodbye to the beautiful story and its wonderful characters. I recommend this book to anyone who loves to lose themselves in a beautifully narrated story from which there is no escaping. This may not have been my most in-depth review, but that’s because this story has to be read first-hand, not read about in vaguely summarised bits in someone’s book review. It just won’t do the story justice, which is why I chose not to discuss the story itself or its characters. But trust me when I say: read this book!

My rating:heartheartheartheartheart

Leave a Reply

