Book Haul (6)

Now that I have a job again it’s very tempting to spend a lot of money on books. Of course I know I shouldn’t, both because I should be saving money and because I still have lots of books that I haven’t even read yet. But as always I just couldn’t help myself, and I had to have a few new books. I managed not to get too carried away though, and I only ordered two 🙂

17912502 the-summer-queen-by-elizabeth-chadwick

Stormbringers – Philippa Gregory
Stormbringers is the 2nd book in the Order of Darkness series, Philippa Gregory’s first venture into the Young Adult genre, and it’s set in Medieval Italy. The first book had an open ending, so I’m really looking forward to reading what’s going to happen next.

The Summer Queen – Elizabeth Chadwick
I’ve never read anything by Elizabeth Chadwick before, but I’ve read some pretty positive reviews about her work and I really want to read some more about Eleanor of Aquitaine because I think she was a fascinating woman. So far I’ve only read an actual history book about her, and since not a lot is known about Eleanor I think it’s going to be really interesting and fun to read a work of fiction about her.

The great thing about working is that I’ve more money to spend on books, but unfortunately the downside is that I’m working 6 days a week at the moment and that leaves little time to actually sit down and read. But I’m sure I can make it work, and I can’t wait to start reading both books 😀

2 thoughts on “Book Haul (6)

  1. Strombringers has such a gorgeous cover! It has an Assasin’s Creed like feel to it-I guess it’s because of the hooded figure in the background.The Summer Queen sounds really interesting as well. I hope you enjoy your books Philippa!

    1. Thanks Savindi 😀 They both got pretty amazing covers, don’t they? One is just really dark and mysterious, and the other’s all pretty colours and loveliness. I wish I could start reading them right now, but I have to be at work in an hour *sigh*

Leave a Reply

