Top Ten Tuesday (9)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

 

This week the topic is the exact opposite from the April 30 topic: Top Ten Words/Topics That Will Make You NOT pick up a book

I usually read any kind of book that looks interesting to me, and I’m not easily put off by certain words or topic. However, there are always a few that don’t appeal to me, and will be a deal-breaker when it comes to picking up new titles.

Only 7 this time, as I really couldn’t think of 3 more, and in no particular order.

Romance
Don’t get me wrong, I’ve nothing against romance, and it’s not as if I shy away from books where one or more characters are romantically involved with anyone (that would be pretty much impossible too I’d say). It’s just that I’m not a fan of the romance genre, and I wouldn’t feel tempted to pick up a book with romance as its main topic.

Vampires
I know a lot of people adore vampire novels, but I just don’t get the attraction. Vampires have just never seemed interested to me, and it’s not a topic I’d enjoy reading about. My only exception in this case is Dracula, which I did like.

Zombies
See vampire explanation. I just don’t really get it. I once had to read I Am Legend for a literature class, and even though I thought the whole theory of linking the concept of a zombie apocalypse to capitalism was kinda cool, it still wasn’t convincing enough to make me actually like the genre.

Love triangle
I think this ties in with the romance genre and why I really don’t go for those kinds of books. Of course I wouldn’t rule out a book solely because a love triangle plays a part in it, as long as it’s not used as a blatant stereotype.

Paranormal
Again, it’s just not really my thing.

New adult
This one is once again linked to romance, and most of the new adult covers in itself are enough to put me off.

Aliens
This is probably a strange choice for someone who watches Doctor Who religiously and has read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, but that’s just it. I don’t really like sci-fi, unless it dares to be silly and doesn’t take itself too seriously all the time.

What are your no-go words/topics when buying books?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (9)

    1. It just seems very one-dimensional, doesn’t it? I mean, there are so many more topics that could be covered within the boundaries of the genre and yet it’s nothing but romance. Thanks for commenting!

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday – Words that make me NOT pick up a book | A World of Books

    1. To each their own, and that’s a good thing. It would be boring if we’d all read the same novels and be interested in the same genres. And I don’t even know with Doctor Who anymore, I can hardly consider it “proper” sci-fi (does that sound weird to you). It’s just, I love Doctor Who a lot, but I don’t think sci-fi as a genre takes it very seriously and that’s good because I’m not really into that at all.

  2. Pretty much everything you have described, I tend not to look in the crime or thriller or sci-fi section although there will always be an author who deserves to be read who can cross any genre successfully.

    1. You’re absolutely right, and I think that’s the biggest reason why I only came up with 7 words/topics this week rather than 10. I tend to just read whatever I find interesting, regardless of the genre it supposedly belongs to. For example, I’m not big on fantasy either but I’m more than halfway through ASOIAF and so far I’ve really enjoyed those books.

Leave a Reply

