Top Ten Tuesday (10)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s topic is Top Ten Favourite Books With X Setting. The setting I’ve picked is Turkey, because I love to read books that are set there – both modern-day Turkey and the Ottoman Empire.

  • Honour – Elif Shafak
  • The Dervish – Frances Kazan
  • The Gaze – Elif Shafak
  • The Bastard of Istanbul – Elif Shafak
  • The Forty Rules of Love – Elif Shafak
  • My Name is Red – Orhan Pamuk
  • The Sultan’s Seal – Jenny White
  • The Abyssinian Proof – Jenny White
  • The Winter Thief – Jenny White

I suppose I haven’t managed to be more creative and diverse when it comes to this week’s authors, but each and every book on my list is just beautiful and in each case the setting really adds something wonderful to the story.

Do you have a favourite setting for the books that you read?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (10)

  1. I was really looking forward to reading your list because I knew it would be a list about the Middle East. I know you’ve told me about Orphan Pamuk’s books and his writing, so I’m going to have to read some works. Are Jenny White’s books a series or are they stand alones? Great List Phillipa! Are you all set to go to Scotland? When is grad school starting for you?

    1. Thanks Savindi! Orhan Pamuk is great, and I can especially recommend My Name is Red. I just adored that one. I’m currently reading Silent House, but that’s a bit of a tough one. I can’t say I dislike it, but it’s not terribly exciting either. Jenny White’s books are a series, so you should start with The Sultan’s Seal. I picked up that one simply because I liked the cover, and it turned out to be a really great book!

      I’m nearly set to leave for Edinburgh. Still looking for a place to live, so I’m hoping that I’ll get that sorted soon. Uni starts on 16 September so I’ve got a little bit of time left 😀

Leave a Reply

