A to Z Book Survey

Hey everyone and happy Wednesday! I came across this fun survey on Savindi’s blog, The Streetlight Reader, and since I love surveys I decided to do this one as well. The survey originally came from Jamie, The Perpetual Page Turner, so a big thank you to her for coming up with all these awesome questions 😀

AtoZsurvey-1017x1024
Image Courtesy of The Perpetual Page Turner

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Philippa Gregory. I just instantly buy all of her books as soon as they come out.

Best Sequel Ever:

Very often 3rd books are better than 2nd books for some reason, I don’t know why. But I thought The Abyssinian Proof by Jenny White was a great sequel to The Sultan’s Seal.

Currently Reading:

The Wise Woman by Philippa Gregory, Festival of Death by Jonathan Morris.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Tea! Frankly there’s just no competition there.

E-reader or Physical Book?

I love both for different reasons. Nothing can ever beat a physical book for me, but an e-reader is just so practical when travelling and it saves you from getting a hernia!

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Hmm this is a really difficult one. I can’t think of anyone just right now.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I didn’t think it would be a book I’d enjoy, but I’m glad a few people bullied me into reading it because I loved it.

Hidden Gem Book:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë. I started reading it because I felt I ought to have read such a famous classic, and I loved it so much more than I thought I would.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Getting a credit card so I could get my books cheaper by ordering on Amazon. Okay maybe not. I guess it would be joining Goodreads, because it opened up a whole new world to me and I discovered so many fantastic books that I would never have found otherwise. And it’s what made me decide to start a blog.

Just Finished:

A Feast for Crows by George R. R. Martin, and it was a tough one to get through.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Erotica, New Adult, and vampire novels.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

A Storm of Swords by George R. R. Martin (1177 pages).

Major book hangover because of:

Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince. I stayed up until 4 am on a school night to finish it even though I had to get up at 7 . I spent my next day at school being depressed and exhausted because of the ending and because I hadn’t slept.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Only 1 but it’s crammed so full of books that they’re threatening to fall out. And the rest of my books take up quite a bit of my parents’ bookcase as well. Others I keep in boxes or just scattered around the house.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I don’t re-read a lot because there are so many books that I haven’t read yet. But I’ve read all the Harry Potter books multiple times.

Preferred Place To Read:

In the garden in the shade of our massive tree.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

Take your time in everything, until you feel the pull within yourself. Do not let yourself be guided by fear, or even by desire. And certainly not by the will of others…Like the moon and the tides, the human heart has many phases. Wait for them. They will not be rushed.” – The Sultan’s Seal by Jenny White.

I think this is a beautiful quote, and so very relevant to life today because everything just feels rushed.

Reading Regret:

I suppose my only regret is that I haven’t read more classics, but I’m working on that. Other than that I don’t have any real regrets when it comes to reading.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

The Wideacre trilogy by Philippa Gregory. I read the first book a few years back, and earlier this year I tried to start on the second, but for some reason I can’t get myself to read it.

Three of your All-Time Favourite Books:

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë, Chocolat by Joanne Harris

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Tudor Court novels. I just love them.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Most of the books I was looking forward to this year have already been released, but I’m really excited about Allegiant, the 3rd book in the Divergent trilogy!

Worst Bookish Habit:

Not finishing them. I used to make a habit of reading up to 10 books at a time and only finishing 1 or 2 of them. I’ve forced myself to stop doing that so now I never read more than 3 books at a time and finish nearly all of them.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

City of Veils by Zoë Ferraris.

Your latest book purchase:

The White Princess by Philippa Gregory and The Flea Palace by Elif Shafak but they haven’t arrived yet and I’m getting so impatient! Hopefully they’ll get here either tomorrow or the day after.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. I just had to finish it.
So that’s all from me for now. If you’ve taken the survey as well leave me a link in the comments, because I’d love to read your answers!

11 thoughts on “A to Z Book Survey

  1. I think Half Blood Prince came out during the Summer over here, so it didn’t matter that I stayed up late lol. I did stay up all night to finish Deathly Hallows lol. But now I can’t stay up which disappoints me. I stayed up until 2.00 to read some of Emperor of Thorns, but that’s about it. I’m half way done with The Casual Vacancy and I feel really sorry for Krystal. I loved the quote you used btw! Very inspiring.I wish I had a tree in my garden lol. It would be so awesome read under a tree during the Summer. I love all your answers Phillipa!

    1. Thanks Savindi! The Half-blood Prince gave me the worst book hangover to date, that’s for sure. It was years ago, but I can still remember exactly how I felt and I just couldn’t focus on any of my classes that day. I was exhausted.

      Krystal really is the character I felt for most in The Casual Vacancy. Her whole life is just one never-ending tragedy, really sad.

      And I think The Sultan’s Seal (where the quote’s from) is a book you’d like. I love the whole series 🙂

  2. bookgeeking

    I love Phillipa Gregory, not read as many of hers as I would like but I am getting there. This is a good idea, think I will do it on my blog later. 🙂

  3. We have in common ‘the kind of books you wouldn’t read’. I’ve once read books about vampires (-cough-Twilight -cough-) and haven’t done it in a while, and probably won’t any time soon. Also, the Shadow of the Wind, which I’ve just finished a couple of days ago, and Wuthering Heights ❤ are two of my favourite books ever! And since that's the case, I've looked up Chocolat and decided that I'll read it when I get the chance to.

    I quite enjoyed reading this post and hope you're having a good day! 🙂

    1. The only vampire book I ever read was the original one, Dracula, and I did actually like it. But other than that I’m really not interested in reading anything to do with vampires to be honest. I read Shadow of the Wind in the spring and I already feel like reading it again, that’s how much I loved it.

      Chocolat is wonderful, as are its sequels, and I can recommend the film adaptation of it as well. It’s one of the very few adaptations that actually work for me, because I usually don’t like them at all.

      Thanks for the lovely comment!

  4. Pingback: A to Z Survey | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

