August Wrap-Up

This is always such a strange, but at the same time exciting time of the year. It’s a time of endings and beginnings, of saying goodbye to loved ones and meeting new people. August was a crazy month for me: it was my last month at work, and only last night I said goodbye to my lovely colleagues who were going back home. Meanwhile I’m very busy sorting through my things and packing, because I’m moving to Edinburgh in only 3 days (yikes!).

Because I’ve been so busy, August has been a slow month for me reading-wise. I only managed to finish 3 books, though I started 2 others as well but I haven’t been able to finish them yet.

Books I’ve Read
15732533 200px-AFeastForCrows 17833521

The Magic of Reality – Richard Dawkins
A Feast For Crows – George R.R. Martin
The White Princess – Philippa Gregory

finally managed to finish A Feast For Crows, which took me ages. For me this was definitely the weakest installment of A Song of Ice and Fire so far, but apparently I’m not the only one who feels that way. As always Martin does manage to make the ending of the book really intense and exciting, and it leaves the reader wanting more, so I definitely want to continue the series and see how the story progresses.

Books I started reading in August
wise-woman 538206 (1)

The Wise Woman – Philippa Gregory
The Constant Princess – Philippa Gregory 

I’ve put The Wise Woman on hold for now because the book just didn’t really interest me to be honest. I couldn’t get into the story and I couldn’t relate to the main character at all.

I’m rereading The Constant Princess because it’s been years since I read it, and I find I’m enjoying it as much as I did the first time around. It also ties in really nicely with The White Princess, because in a way it’s a continuation of that story.

Other than that I haven’t done much this month to be honest, besides working and preparing for my big move to Scotland, but more about that when I’ve actually arrived 🙂

What have you read this month?

7 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

  1. Good Luck with the move to Edinburgh Phillipa! I hope it goes smoothly! I forgot to ask you, do you watch the Game of Thrones series as well? Also you need to start watching Ripper Street, because the second season is coming out this fall!

    1. Thanks Savindi! I’m a bit nervous, but I’m sure it’ll all work out 🙂

      I’ve seen a few episode of the first season of GoT, and I liked it, but it did feel like watching an abbreviated version of the book. Perhaps I watched it too soon after reading it. And Ripper Street is still on my list of series that I need to watch!

      1. I hope the moving process went smoothly! Are you all settled in Edinburgh now? I have to admit that I only watched the first season of GoT. I thought it was fantastic, but then because of school and I was writing my thesis when the second season came out, it never occurred to me to catch up and then my love it kind of went down the drain. I still highly recommend Ripper Street!

      2. The moving process went really well, thanks. I’ve settled in quite nicely and I’ve been out exploring the city these past few days. Induction week starts tomorrow, and the actual classes begin the week after which I’m really excited about.

        I’m not sure if I’ll ever catch up with GoT because I’d much rather read the books to be honest. I just need to get A Dance With Dragons sometime soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

