Book Haul (9)

So, when I moved up to Edinburgh almost 2 weeks ago I had very limited space in my luggage, which meant that I had to say goodbye to almost all of my books because sadly, I had to leave them all behind. I brought only 1 book over with me, The Flea Palace by Elif Shafak because I’m currently reading that one, and my Kindle. So naturally I had to rectify that situation as soon as possible, because a house without books in them just feels so horribly empty.

image (6)

 

This week I bought:
A Dangerous Inheritance – Alison Weir
Palace Walk – Naguib  Mahfouz (2nd hand)
The Map of Love – Ahdaf Soueif (2nd hand)

I got them all very cheaply which is always a good thing, but it’s especially nice because I’ve had so much expenses these past 2 weeks with all the stuff I needed to buy after the move. I got the Alison Weir book at Sainsbury’s for £3, and the other 2 books at a second hand book shop. The Map of Love was also £3, and Palace Walk only £2.50. Bargain!

So I’m really happy with my purchases, and they’ve made my bookshelf seem a little less empty.

Have you bought any new books this week? Drop me a comment and tell me all about it 🙂

2 thoughts on “Book Haul (9)

  1. I read The Map of Love in my second year at University when I took a class on Post Colonial Literature. The focus that semester was the Middle East. The author has also been interviewed a few times on democracynow. I don’t remember too much about the book, but I do want to re-read it again. I feel like I didn’t enjoy it too much because I was given a deadline as to when I should finish it. I hope you enjoy all your books Phillipa!

    1. Oh yes it’s always horrible when a lot of the enjoyment of a book is taken away from you because of a deadline. Here’s to hoping you’ll enjoy it more when you read it again! I actually first stumbled across the author’s name on the Middle East and North African Literature group on Goodreads, and I’ve heard a lot of positive things about her books. The bookstore actually had another book by her as well, but I had only allowed myself to get 2 books this time and I really wanted to buy the Naguib Mahfouz one as well. So who knows, they might still have it on my next visit.

      Thanks for the lovely comment Savindi!

Leave a Reply

