Birthday Book Haul (11)

Hi everyone! I realise that my last post was also a book haul, but I promise you that this one’s bigger and better, and part of it were birthday presents. Admittedly, they were presents to myself because for some reason nobody got me books for my birthday this year. Madness! So I’ll start off with those two.

These are the books I bought yesterday:

13337715 coffee_shop_ARTWORK:Layout 1

 

A Dance with Dragons 1: Dreams and Dust – George R.R. Martin
The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul – Deborah Rodriguez

I think A Dance with Dragons will have to wait until the Christmas holidays, because there’s no way I’ll be able to work my way through that one right now. But it’s nice to have it sitting on my shelf, patiently waiting for me until after the end of the semester. The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul just sounds like a really lovely book, and I’ve been meaning to buy it for quite some time now. And since both books were part of the ‘buy one, get one at half price’ deal at Waterstone’s I simply couldn’t resist 🙂

Then earlier in the week there was a sale on at the university library of Edinburgh University Press books, and of course I had a wander around and couldn’t help myself. I got these 2 books, for a grand total of £7!

3602192 9037738

 

Sufism and Theology – Ayman Shihadeh
Orientalism: a reader – A.L. Macfie

I’m really happy with these because I’m sure they’ll come in quite handy for my essay writing either this semester or the next one.

And last but not least, 1 got one e-book for my iPad last week:

17406183

 

Allegiant – Veronica Roth

 

I was really excited about Allegiant finally being released. I’m about halfway through the book now and it’s great. Can’t wait to find out how it ends.

So that’s all for now, and I’m really going to try and post more regularly again from now on, because I realise how much I’ve been neglecting this blog and I feel pretty bad about it.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Book Haul (11)

    1. Thank you!

      I’ve heard very mixed reactions about Allegiant. Some loved it, and some really hated it. But I guess with a series of books it’s always hard to make the ending work, and you’ll never be able to please everybody. I’m about halfway through it now, and I’m getting really curious to see how it’s all going to end. I definitely liked Divergent and Insurgent.

      George R.R. Martin requires some dedication, but the books are just too good not to read if you ask me, so I’m soldiering on with them haha. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

