Festive Fun

I absolutely adore the festive season, especially the build up to Christmas. Decorating the house, baking all sorts of delicious treats, and deciding what to have for dinner on Christmas Eve. But what I love most of all this time of year is staying in with a good book and a nice cup of tea, especially when it’s cold and dark outside. There’s so much that I love about the holiday season, so I thought I’d share some of it with you. Hope you enjoy it!

Books
As I said I love to read during this season, especially because uni leaves me little time to read for pleasure, so the holidays are the only time when I can do some catching up. I made a list of winter reads last year, so I won’t do this a second time, but there are a few I feel I should mention.

Wuthering Heights – Emily BrontëWuthering-6
This is one of my favourite books, and it’s one I would definitely want to read again at some point. I don’t think I’ll do this anytime soon because there are so many new books I still want to read, but because it’s so gothic and spooky, and therefore perfect for this time of year I would recommend it to others.

13337715A Dance With Dragons part 1 – George R.R. Martin
It’s not a very Christmassy book, but I got it for my birthday and I’m determined to read it over the holidays.

 

 

18A Christmas Carol and Other Christmas Writings – Charles Dickens
I suppose if you want something classy and Christmassy to read, this is the perfect book. I read a few of the short Christmas stories last year, and I am planning on reading a few more over the next couple of days.

 

Food
Christmas wouldn’t be Christmas without some of these delicious goodies 🙂

Mince Pies

mince-pies

Mulled Wine

images

 

Gingerbread Biscuits

IMG_4961ec

 
Film and Television
It’s always fun to sit the whole family down and watch a nice film or series together. This is what I intend to watch this Christmas:

Last Tango in Halifax
I love this show, which is now in it 2nd series, and I’m so excited that it’s going to have a 3rd series next year. The series finale is on Christmas Eve, and I can’t wait!

showposter

The last episode airs on 24 December at 9 PM on BBC1

Doctor Who
You can’t have Christmas without the Doctor Who special on Christmas Day. This year will both be extra sad and exciting, because we’ll be saying goodbye to Matt Smith, but we’ll be welcoming Peter Capaldi as the 12th Doctor. I for one am very excited to see what he’ll bring to the character of the Doctor.
Christmas Day at 7.30 PM on BBC1

Love Actually
I just love it because it’s such a feel-good film, and I definitely intend to watch it sometime next week.
download

Death Comes to Pemberley
I’ve not read the book yet to be honest, but I’m really excited about this series. I’ve seen a few short previews on tv, and it looks really good. The cast is pretty amazing as well, so I can’t wait to watch this. It starts on Boxing Day (26 December) at 8.15 PM on BBC1.

So this is what I’m looking forward to this Christmas. How about you? 🙂

Leave a Reply

