Top Ten Tuesday (12)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

It’s been ages since I last did a TTT, so I should probably do one or two more before the year is out. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me. So basically this is just a selection of my wish/tbr-list.

TTT3W

1. Stormbird (Wars of the Roses #1) – Conn Igulden
2. If You Could Be Mine – Sara Farizan
3. The Yacoubian Building – Alaa Al-Aswany

17830079 17302571 128711

4. A Cat, A Hat, and a Piece of String – Joanne Harris
5. Oh Dear Sylvia – Dawn French
6. Black Mamba Boy – Nadifa Mohamed

13573396 15990487 6775396

7. A Map of Home – Randa Jarrar
8. Death Comes to Pemberley – P.D. James
9. The Taliban Cricket Club – Timeri N. Murari

3195325 12875355 13609888

10. The Ultimate Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

81wSt81O6IL._SL1500_


So that’s my Christmas wishlist. Let’s hope I’ll find at least some of them under the tree! 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (12)

  1. Hello — hopping by following links from Top Ten Tuesday. You’ve picked mostly books (and authors) that I’m not familiar with. That means I have even more to explore! The Taliban Cricket Club looks really interesting — I’m making a note to check it out.

    1. Hey, and thanks for stopping by and commenting! Sorry for the late reply, I really appreciate you taking a look at my blog. That’s what I like about TTT, it introduces you to books and authors you wouldn’t normally come across 🙂

  2. Ohhh The Yacoubian Building! I enjoyed it way more than I thought I would. The movie was really good and I actually used it as an example in my last essay for my Islamic History seminar. It was very interesting. Ohh have you watched the Death comes to Pemberley BBC production? What did you think of the Doctor Who Christmas special? I hope you had a wonderful holiday Philippa! I hope your place in Scotland is okay amidst the flooding! Have a Happy New Year!

    1. I’ve heard very mixed reactions about The Yacoubian Building. Some people really enjoyed it, and others thought it was horrible. So I guess I’ll just have to read it and see what I make of it. And I watched Death Comes to Pemberley, which I thought was great! I’ve not actually read the book, but I definitely want to read it now. And I watched Doctor Who as well, and for the first time I didn’t enjoy it at all. It was a very confusing and uninteresting episode, and not a good send off for Matt Smith, so that was a bit of a disappointment.

      I’ve not heard about any flooding in Edinburgh to be honest, so I’m guessing it should be ok. I’m spending the holidays in France though, and everything’s fine over here 🙂

      Happy New Year to you too!

      1. I do agree that the book has garnered very mixed reactions. I was surprised that I liked it so much considering that it was a book that was assigned to read in my Politics in the Middle East class. But I’m glad I read it. It might also have to do with the translations too. I think with translations it’s difficult to capture the entire essence of something. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it when you do read it :).

        I heard the Doctor Who episode got mixed reactions from fans! Do you like the person who will be the next Doctor? Are you a fan of Sherlock? I’m really looking forward to the new series!

        I hope Edinburgh is okay! My friend lives in Dumfries and I’m guessing that’s a bit far from Edinburgh. Ohhh that’s exciting that you’re in France!

        Thanks for the New Year wishes Phillipa!

      2. I really like the next Doctor Who, and I’m looking forward to seeing his take on the character. Plus he’s Scottish, and he’s keeping his accent for the role which I think is very cool 🙂 I haven’t had time to watch the new Sherlock yet, but I am reallylooking forward to that as well!

        Apparently mainly the West coast of the UK was hit hard by storms and flooding, but Edinburgh is on the East coast so we should be ok there. I just hope it won’t be as windy as it is now when I fly back on Thursday.

      3. Is David Tenant Scottish as well? Sorry I don’t know too much about him lol. I want to watch the new Musketeers show as well. I believe the new Doctor plays the Cardinal in it. I have to watch the second episode of Sherlock. I haven’t seen it yet.

        The UK has definitely been hit pretty badly. I hope Edinburgh will be okay. I know I always complain when people in the UK complain about the weather when it’s 2 degrees or just -1. But I’ll gladly take the snow over flooding right now lol.

        I hope you had a great holiday!

      4. Yeah David Tennant’s Scottish as well, but he had an English accent when he was on Doctor Who. I’ve not seen any of the new Sherlock episodes yet, but I’m hoping to find some time to watch them either later this week or next weekend. I am really looking forward to watching them!

        There’s no flooding in Edinburgh luckily, but it seems to be very windy all around Western Europe at the moment, so I’m just hoping that there won’t be too much turbulence during my flight back on Thursday *fingers crossed*

        And thanks! Hope you had a great holiday as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

