2013 Reading Challenges

logoThis year I took part in two different reading challenges. One was the Goodreads Reading Challenge, as usual. After passing my challenge of 40 books last year, I decided to be a bit more daring and challenged myself to read 50 books this year. Even though I was on track for most of the year, and even ahead for quite some time, I didn’t manage to complete this one. I guess I underestimated how much of my time would be taken up by my Masters, which I started in September. Still, I managed to read 44 books, which I’m quite pleased about 🙂

womenauthorchallengeThe other one was the Women Author Challenge, hosted by www.peekabook.it
I chose to go for level 3: SUPER GIRL – read 11 to 15 books written by a woman author. But in the end I even managed to surpass the highest level, which was level 4: WONDER WOMAN – read 16+ books written by a woman author.

  1. The Gaze – Elif Shafak
  2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling
  3. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – J.K. Rowling
  4. The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling
  5. Daughter of Jerusalem – Joan Wolf
  6. The Dervish – Frances Kazan
  7. The Garden of my Imaan – Farhana Zia
  8. Harry Potter: The Prequel – J.K. Rowling
  9. Roses Have Thorns: A Novel of Elizabeth I – Sandra Byrd
  10. A Murder is Announced – Agatha Christie
  11. The Boleyn King – Laura Andersen
  12. Fast Times in Palestine – Pamela J. Olson
  13. Honour – Elif Shafak
  14. Stormbringers – Philippa Gregory
  15. The Summer Queen – Elizabeth Chadwick
  16. Blackberry Wine – Joanne Harris
  17. The White Princess – Philippa Gregory
  18. The Constant Princess – Philippa Gregory
  19. Bonkers: My Life in Laughs – Jennifer Saunders
  20. Leila Khaled: Icon of Palestinian Liberation – Sarah Irving
  21. My People Shall Live: Autobiography of a Revolutionary – Leila Khaled
  22. Allegiant – Veronica Roth

I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t manage to read 50 books this year, but of course I’m very happy that I at least completed one of my reading challenges. I will definitely partake in both challenges again in 2014, and perhaps in some others as well.

Are you planning to take part in any reading challenges next year?

Leave a Reply

