Top Ten Tuesday (13)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

Coincidentally this is my 13th Top Ten Tuesday, and on the last day of 2013 no less! This week’s topic is: Top Ten Books I Read In 2013. Unfortunately I didn’t manage to complete my Goodreads reading challenge for this year, but I did read some great books so it’s difficult to pick just 10 that I loved most. But here they are, in no particular order.

13497818

The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling
This is a book I never expected to love as much as I did. It wasn’t to everyone’s liking, and some people were really disappointed, but I loved it!

shadow-of-the-wind

The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafón
I can safely say that this is one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read.

16000331

Fast Times in Palestine – Pamela J. Olson
Definitely one of the best non-ficion books I’ve read this year. A wonderful personal account of a backpacking adventure through the Middle East that resulted in years of living in Palestine.

13616853

Honour – Elif Shafak
Quite a depressing book centred around an honour killing, but beautifully written.

573607

The God Delusion – Richard Dawkins
This one was an eye-opener for me.

16115612

And The Mountains Echoed – Khaled Hosseini
I think this is the most beautiful book I’ve read this year.

893136

The Book Thief – Markus Zusak
This is one of those books I started reading because everyone was talking about it, and I’m so glad I did. It’s a beautiful book and one I definitely want to read again someday.

the-summer-queen-by-elizabeth-chadwick

The Summer Queen – Elizabeth Chadwick
I’ve several of Elizabeth Chadwick’s books on my tbr-list, but this was the first of her novels that I’ve read. Eleanor of Aquitaine is one of my favourite historical characters, and this is by far the best (fictional) account of her life that I’ve read. I was so happy to find out that this is the first part of a trilogy, so I’ve got two more wonderful books to look forward to!

Blackberry Wine – Joanne Harris
My first Joanne Harris book that wasn’t part of the Chocolat trilogy, but it did take place in the “Chocolat-verse”.

17406183

Allegiant – Veronica Roth
The final part of the Divergent trilogy, and I have to say it did not disappoint. Perhaps it wasn’t as thrilling as the first two books, but still a pretty decent read.

So there we have it, my favourite books of 2013. What were your favourite reads this year?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (13)

  1. Ohh The Casual Vacancy! It made my End of the Year Book Survey, but not my Top Ten list. I agree that it was a great book. I think the review I wrote for it is one of my favourites lol. Have you read her mystery book? I read The God Delusion a few years ago and I really enjoyed that one too. I’ve yet to read Khaled Hosseini’s new book though :(. I hope I’ll get a chance to read it in 2014. Speaking of The Book Thief, I have to get my copy back from my friend. Did you see the movie Phillipa? I hope you have a Happy New Year!

    1. Some people found the pace of The Casual Vacancy too slow, but I quite liked it to be honest. It mainly made my list because I hadn´t expected to like it so much as I did. By mystery book, do you mean the one she wrote under a pseudonym? I read the synopsis for the book and it didn’t sound like my kind of story, so I don’t think I’ll be reading that one any time soon. But who knows, I might still read it someday. I hope you’ll enjoy Hosseini’s book when you get a chance to read it, because it’s just so beautiful. And I haven’t seen The Book Thief yet, because it’s not out yet in the UK. Unfortunately I’ll have to wait until 26 February, so I’m hoping it’ll be worth the wait! Happy New Year to you too Savindi, and here’s to lots more great books in 2014! 😀

      1. I’m sorry for the late reply! I didn’t expect to enjoy The Casual Vacancy as much as I did either. I feel like it would make such a good movie script too. And yup I mean the book she wrote under a pseudonym. I think it’s called “The Cuckoo’s Calling”? The cover of it is beautiful. Oh The Book Thief has been out here, I’m not sure if it’s still at theatres. Let me know what you think of it when you see it!

        Are you participating in any reading challenges?

      2. I can’t wait to see The Book Thief! I’ll definitely go and see it as soon as it’s out in theatres. So far I’m participating in the Goodreads challenge (as usual), and the woman author challenge. Do you know of any other challenges that you could recommend?

Leave a Reply

