On My Bookshelf (10)

In this feature I showcase books that remain on my shelf, unread and impatiently waiting to be picked up.

onmybookshelf

This time I’ve chosen 44 Scotland Street by Alexander McCall Smith, the first in a series of books that goes by the same name. I absolutely adore McCall Smith’s series about The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, and I’m really looking forward to reading some of his other work as well. What makes it more interesting for me at this particular moment in my life is that the books are set in Edinburgh, which is where I’m living at the moment, so I’m assuming that this will really bring the story to life for me once I start reading it. I really hope I’ll have time to start on this series soon!

533601

Synopsis
Welcome to 44 Scotland Street, home to some of Edinburgh’s most colourful characters. There’s Pat, a twenty-year-old who has recently moved into a flat with Bruce, an athletic young man with a keen awareness of his own appearance. Their neighbour, Domenica, is an eccentric and insightful widow. In the flat below are Irene and her appealing son Bertie, who is the victim of his mother’s desire for him to learn the saxophone and Italian all at the tender age of five.

Love triangles, a lost painting, intriguing new friends, and an encounter with a famous Scottish crime writer are just a few of the ingredients that add to this delightful and witty portrait of Edinburgh society, which was first published as a serial in The Scotsman newspaper. (Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

