Top Ten Tuesday (14)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

My 14th Top Ten Tuesday, and the first of 2014! This is definitely my favourite meme, and I will continue with it in this new year, and hopefully more regularly than I did in 2013. Which ties in nicely with this week’s topic, which is: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014 (bookish, not bookish, or a blend).

  1. Make sure I update my blog regularly.
  2. Read at least 50 books.
  3. Read more books by women authors. I read 22 last year, and my aim is to top that.
  4. Find a healthy balance between course work and free time. This year I’ll need to allow myself some time every now and then to sit down and read.
  5. Write reviews soon after finishing a book, rather than putting it off indefinitely.
  6. Explore new genres and authors.
  7. Possibly take part in/host a blog tour.
  8. Do a giveaway.
  9. Get my Master’s degree.
  10. Go to London again and see a play.

 

So that’s 8 bookish resolutions, and 2 general ones. I’d say all-in-all they should be doable for this year.

Did you make any resolutions for 2014? (bookish or otherwise)

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (14)

  1. I like number #9 Phillipa! Will this be your last term or is your program more than one year? I want to explore new genres and authors as well. Interestingly I do think that I read a lot of books by female authors last year. I’m not sure if I can do it, but I’d like to see if I can split my reading list into 50% of female authors and 50% male authors. I like what you said about reading a book and writing a review immediately after. I feel like I take days to write a review and sometimes I feel like I forget things that I want to mention. Good Luck with all your resolutions!!

    1. Thanks! It’s only a one year programme, so every time I think about how much stuff I still need to get done by this summer I freak out a little bit haha. Ideally I’d like to split my list of male and female authors to 50-50 as well, that’s definitely one thing I’m going to try and do this year. And I’m so bad when it comes to reviewing. I always feel like I need to let everything sink in after I’ve finished a book, but then I just start putting it off and it’s such a bad habit.

      1. Thanks! Yeah I have to write a dissertation as well. I’ve some vague ideas of what I want to write about, but nothing specific yet. I believe we have to hand in our first proposal sometime in February, so I’ve got a little bit of time left to come up with something. I’m getting nervous though, because it’s just so hard to think of a good topic. I was so prepared at undergrad, and I’d basically already decided on a topic during my 2nd year, so it feels very weird now barely having a clue what I want to write about.

Leave a Reply

