Book Haul (12)

So I received a few new books in the post today, which were actually belated Christmas presents so I’m really happy that I’ve finally got them. The only problem is that the new term starts next week, so I don’t know how much spare time I’ll have to actually read them. But I guess I’ll just have to try and find a way to do so. That is one of my new year’s resolutions after all, to make some time to read for pleasure in spite of the heavy workload of my master’s degree.

All three books have been on my wishlist for a while now, and I can’t wait to start reading them 🙂

If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan

17302571Seventeen-year-old Sahar has been in love with her best friend, Nasrin, since they were six. They’ve shared stolen kisses and romantic promises. But Iran is a dangerous place for two girls in love—Sahar and Nasrin could be beaten, imprisoned, even executed if their relationship came to light.

So they carry on in secret—until Nasrin’s parents announce that they’ve arranged for her marriage. Nasrin tries to persuade Sahar that they can go on as they have been, only now with new comforts provided by the decent, well-to-do doctor Nasrin will marry. But Sahar dreams of loving Nasrin exclusively—and openly.

Then Sahar discovers what seems like the perfect solution. In Iran, homosexuality may be a crime, but to be a man trapped in a woman’s body is seen as nature’s mistake, and sex reassignment is legal and accessible. As a man, Sahar could be the one to marry Nasrin. Sahar will never be able to love the one she wants, in the body she wants to be loved in, without risking her life. Is saving her love worth sacrificing her true self?

The Yacoubian Building by Alaa Al-Aswany

1103556

This controversial bestselling novel in the Arab world reveals the political corruption, sexual repression, religious extremism, and modern hopes of Egypt today.

All manner of flawed and fragile humanity reside in the Yacoubian Building, a once-elegant temple of Art Deco splendor now slowly decaying in the smog and bustle of downtown Cairo: a fading aristocrat and self-proclaimed “scientist of women”; a sultry, voluptuous siren; a devout young student, feeling the irresistible pull toward fundamentalism; a newspaper editor helplessly in love with a policeman; a corrupt and corpulent politician, twisting the Koran to justify his desires.

These disparate lives careen toward an explosive conclusion in Alaa Al Aswany’s remarkable international bestseller. Teeming with frank sexuality and heartfelt compassion, this book is an important window on to the experience of loss and love in the Arab world.

Does My Head Look Big In This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah

79876When sixteen-year-old Amal decides to wear the hijab full-time, her entire world changes, all because of a piece of cloth…

Sixteen-year-old Amal makes the decision to start wearing the hijab full- time and everyone has a reaction. Her parents, her teachers, her friends, people on the street. But she stands by her decision to embrace her faith and all that it is, even if it does make her a little different from everyone else.

Can she handle the taunts of “towel head,” the prejudice of her classmates, and still attract the cutest boy in school? Brilliantly funny and poignant, Randa Abdel-Fattah’s debut novel will strike a chord in all teenage readers, no matter what their beliefs

So that’s all I have to show you for now. Have a brilliant weekend everyone! 😀

Have you bought any new books recently?

4 thoughts on “Book Haul (12)

  1. There’s nothing better than receiving books through the post – a wonderful late Christmas gift! I just started ‘Eleven Days’ by Lea Carpenter. I’ve only read the first chapter but so far it’s good.

  2. Well you know that I already enjoyed The Yacoubian Building a lot! You’re going to have to tell me your thoughts on it :). Also let me know if you end up watching the movie as well. I’ve heard mixed things about If You Could Be Mine, so again I’ll wait to hear more of your thoughts on it! My best friend recommended Does My Head Look Big in This a while back, but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. Bottom line-I’m going to wait till you review all of these books and then pick them up lol! Happy Reading Philippa!

    1. One of my fellow students mentioned The Yacoubian Building the other day and said: don’t watch the film, so I guess for now I’ll stick to the book (when I get to it). I’ve read about half of If You Could Be Mine so far, and it is an interesting story, and I’m now waiting to see how events will unfold. At this point it could go either way to be honest, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy the rest of the book. Thanks Savindi!

Leave a Reply

