February in Review

Hi all, and apologies for abandoning the blog again for so long. I had three deadlines this month, and in addition to that my mum came to visit me for a few days so it’s safe to say that I’ve been pretty busy. It’s such a shame that whenever things get busy the blogging immediately gets put on the back burner, but it’s just really difficult to find the time to blog regularly. Not to mention finding the time to actually read a book. Who would’ve thought a master’s programme would be so hectic?

February is the shortest month of the year and it definitely felt as if it was over in a flash. To me it still feels as if we’ve only just had Christmas, but it’ll be the 1st of March tomorrow, and we’ve only got 4 weeks of teaching left this term! This is scariest of all, because that means I’m only 3 essays and a dissertation away from graduating. And after that I’ll have to start looking for a job and pretend to be a mature and responsible adult, and I’m not sure if I’m ready for that much responsibility.

Anyway, February was a reasonably good month. I visited 2 museums:

The Scottish National Gallery

national_gallery_of_scotland_exterior_front_2_1_1
Source 

The National Museum of Scotland

national-museum-of-scotland
Source

And in spite of everything I even managed to read to read 4 books!

17302571

 

I’d wanted to read this book for quite some time now, and I am even planning on using this novel for my dissertation. I really enjoyed reading it!

 

 

867916

 

I had to read this for one of my modules and write a book review for it. It was not the most exciting read ever, but I love reading about Al-Andalus so it was still enjoyable.

 

 

17466196

 

Again I had to read this for a module and write a review about it. This book was amazing! Really interesting, and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about Saudi Arabia and its gender politics.

 

 

17182148

 

Last but not least: this was more of a guilty pleasure read. It was nice to get my mind off things and read something light and completely different from what I normally read. I really enjoyed it.

 

 

So that’s all for now and I will really try and blog a bit more regularly, but unfortunately I can’t make any promises.

What did you read this month?

Leave a Reply

