Top Ten Tuesday (16)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

It’s been a while since I last did one of these! This week’s topic is an interesting one, and one that really forced me to think about which books to recommend: Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play etc. I chose a top ten of books you’d probably love to read if you like historical period dramas such as The Tudors, The White Queen, and The Other Boleyn Girl. In no particular order:

  • Philippa Gregory’s Tudor Court novels (which includes The Other Boleyn Girl. Much better than the film!)
  • Philippa Gregory’s Cousins’ War novels (includes The White Queen)
  • The Summer Queen – Elizabeth Chadwick
  • The Lady Elizabeth – Alison Weir
  • The Boleyn King – Laura Andersen
  • The Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follett
  • Wolf Hall – Hilary Mantel (which I haven’t actually read yet, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it)
  • The Lady and the Unicorn – Tracy Chevalier

Have you ever recommended books to people based on their taste in films/tv series etc? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (16)

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I tend to stay away from the Tudor court novels nowadays because I know that if I start reading them I won’t be able to stop, and I want to prioritise books that I haven’t read yet. So I definitely agree with you. I reread The Constant Princess last year and loved it just as much as I did the first time round.

Leave a Reply

