Book Haul (13)

Okay so it’s been a while since I last bought any books. I have that thing that most other book addicts have, which is OCBB (obsessive compulsive book buying), but I have been forced to resist this most of the time in the past nine months since I’ve been away at university abroad. Knowing that I will ultimately need to fly home with a maximum of two suitcases has stopped me from buying books, because I just won’t be able to take them all home with me. And also the fact that I’ve been insanely busy with hardly any time to read for fun has been an important factor in all this. It’s a bit disappointing, especially because Edinburgh has so many wonderful small bookshops and I would love to explore them all. I’ve even got this very lovely app on my iPhone which is called ‘Edinburgh Bookshop Trail’, which uses GPS to tell you the location of the nearest bookstore at all times. Pretty useful for a book geek like me. So a few days ago I went for a nice walk through the city centre of Edinburgh and decided to stop off at a secondhand bookshop that I’ve been passing on the bus for months now, but had never actually visited. It’s so crammed full of books that the council has threatened to close it down several times now, and it is absolutely wonderful. It’s just shelf upon shelf full of books, and there were so many that it actually made my head spin. I could’ve easily left with a whole pile of books, but I decided to be sensible and limit myself to just two. I’m not sure how long I was in there, but it must’ve been at least half an hour. I went back and forth looking for titles and authors that are still missing from my collection and it was so difficult to decide which ones to buy. In the end these were the ones I picked up:

 

image (2)

Five Quarters of the Orange – Joanne Harris
A View From the Bridge/All My Sons – Arthur Miller

I’m a big fan of Joanne Harris’ books and I’m slowly but surely trying to collect and read all of them, so I was really happy when I saw this one and it was only £2 so an absolute bargain. The other one contains two plays by Arthur Miller, and although I don’t actually read plays because they only really come to life when they’re performed on stage. But at the beginning of the month I went to see a production of A View From the Bridge at the Young Vic theatre in London and I was blown away by it. It was so well put together and brilliantly performed by the entire cast, but it was a lot of information to take in in just two hours with no interval. So I love buying scripts of plays that I’ve seen, so I can read back through it and relive some of the moments. This one was only £3 so again a bargain, and then on top of that I got a 20% discount so I ended up paying just £4 for both books. It’s been a few days since I bought them but I haven’t had time to read either of them yet, so I’ve got something to look forward to.

Did you buy any new books recently? Leave a comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

