Top Ten Tuesday (18)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s list is Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in X genre. So for my list I have chosen ten underrated – in my opinion – authors and books in the category of Middle Eastern fiction. As usual, they are in no particular order.

Kader Abdolah – The King

19162459

Elif Shafak – The Gaze

The-Gaze

Jenny White – The Sultan’s Seal

1451110

Andrea Busfield – Born Under a Million Shadows

6361937

Sara Farizan – If You Could Be Mine

17302571

Dalia Sofer – The Septembers of Shiraz

1038088

Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya – The Storyteller of Marrakech

14467217

Zoë Ferraris – The Night of the Mi’raj

6488741

Frances Kazan – The Dervish

17401697

Sulaiman Addonia – The Consequences of Love

3672335

So this is my week’s top ten. What’s yours?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (18)

  1. TheBookishOwl

    These all look like such fantastic reads and I’m definitely going to pick up some of them. I’m especially looking forward to reading The King, The Sultan’s Seal, The Storyteller of Marrakesh and The Night of the Mi’raj.

    Great list! 🙂

    1. Hi, and thanks for commenting! The King is a wonderful book, and I only just finished it about a week ago. I can definitely recommend his best known work, The House of the Mosque, as well. The Sultan’s Seal and Night of the Mi’raj are two of my favourite books, and they’re both part of a trilogy, so I can recommend reading the sequels to them as well.

      Also I had a peek at your website and it looks great. I’m possibly considering moving to self-hosting as well, so I might drop you a few questions in the near future as to how I should go about it, if that’s alright with you 🙂

  2. Cait

    I haven’t read ANY of these but I confess: I’m 100% curious. I always love reading about books that are directly set in America or UK, because it actually makes me learn things about other cultures and lives and worlds almost. And I totally love these covers. 🙂 Here’s my TTT!

    1. Thanks for the comment! I had a look at your list and I haven’t read any of the books on yours either, nor do I know any of the authors. This is why I love this meme, because seeing other people’s list gives you suggestions for new books/authors/genres that you otherwise might never have come across.

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! You’ve got a great list too, and I’ve only read one of your list as well which is Fahrenheit 451. I had to read it for one of my classes as an undergraduate, and I remember I didn’t really enjoy it at the time. But after discussing it with a fellow student over the summer I got the feeling that maybe I should give it another go. The concept is very interesting, and maybe I just didn’t enjoy it because it was a compulsory read, who knows? Did you ever see the movie adaptation?

Leave a Reply

