Book Haul (14)

It’s been months since I last did a book haul, and even though I didn’t buy that many books over the summer, I’ve still amassed enough to show them to you now.

image (18)

Philippa Gregory – The King’s Curse
Kader Abdolah – The King
Randa Abdel-Fattah – Does My Head Look Big In This?
Alaa Al-Aswany – The Yacoubian Building
Ruby Wax – Sane New World

I’ve already finished reading The King, and a review of that will be up soon on the blog. What I can say about it right now is that it’s an absolutely beautiful novel. This is also the first of Abdolah’s books that I’ve read in translation, and the translator’s done a wonderful job because they’ve really managed to capture his unique and poetic style of writing, and in my view it works just as well in English as in the original Dutch.

I’m currently reading The King’s Curse, the last of Gregory’s Cousin’s War series of books. I’m about halfway through and, as with all her books, I’m enjoying it immensely. The events described in this book aren’t new to me, but they’re told from a different perspective which is really interesting.

image (17)

Does My Head Look Big In This is still waiting to be read, but my mum’s already finished it and she absolutely loved it. And since we’ve got a pretty similar taste in books I’ll take her word for it, so that’s one I’m definitely looking forward to reading.

I’ve heard a lot about The Yacoubian Building, but not everyone I know who’s read it has been very enthusiastic about it. So we’ll see. I’m definitely intrigued though.

And last but not least, I saw Ruby Wax’s show Sane New World as part of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it was just amazing. Really funny, but serious and very informative at the same time. After that I just had to have her book and read all about it, so I’m hoping to get to that soon.

So this is my latest book haul. Have you bought any new books recently?

3 thoughts on “Book Haul (14)

  1. Well you know that I loved The Yacoubian Building, so I’m really excited to hear what your thoughts will be on it! Also can I just say the cover for the version you have is so gorgeous!! I want to read Does My Head Look Big in This too! My best friend recommended it to me and she loved it! Great Haul Philippa!

    1. Thanks Savindi! Yeah I know that you really loved The Yacoubian Building, and your review of it is one of the reasons why I decided to buy it. But I’ve a few friends who weren’t so positive about it, so I guess I’ll have to see for myself what I make of it. I really want to read Does My Head Look Big In This. When I brought it home and showed it to my mum she took it and started reading it straightaway, and she absolutely loved it which is a good sign.

      1. Yeah I’ve seen some negative reviews of The Yacoubian Building on goodreads too. I guess that shows just how subjective literature is too right?I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it! I might borrow Does My Head Look Big In This from the library at some point maybe.

Leave a Reply

