Top Ten Tuesday (19)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s list is: Top Ten Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More. Now I’ve got quite a few of these. Either because I just haven’t had time to read any of their other books, or sometimes simply because subsequent books haven’t been published yet. Either way, I definitely want to read more by these authors soon. As usual, these are in no particular order.

  • Elizabeth Chadwick
    So far the only book by her that I’ve read is The Summer Queen, which is the first part in her Eleanor of Aquitaine trilogy. The second volume, called The Winter Crown, came out a few days ago, so hopefully I’ll get to that one soon!
  • Deborah Rodriguez
    I read her book The Little Coffeeshop of Kabul over Christmas, and I absolutely adored it. I definitely want to read more from her.
  • Markus Zusak
    Like most people I’ve read and loved The Book Thief, but I’ve not read any of his other novels. I’ve heard that I Am The Messenger is quite good as well, so naturally it’s on my to-read list.
  • Sara Farizan
    I was so impressed by her novel If You Could Be Mine that I ended up using it as one of the case studies for my Master’s dissertation. I could hardly believe that it was her debut novel! So here’s to hoping she’ll publish another novel in the near future, because I would love to read more from her.
  • Laura Andersen
    Last year I read this book that I requested through Netgalley, called The Boleyn King. This novel centres around the idea of what would’ve happened if Anne Boleyn had given birth to a live son rather than a stillborn baby. Super interesting and again the first part of a trilogy, so I’m eagerly awaiting the other instalments.
  • John Green
    I’ve only read The Fault in Our Stars, and unlike many people I wasn’t very impressed. But I do really like John Green as a person, so I definitely want to give his books another go. Maybe TFiOS just wasn’t for me.
  • Stephen Fry
    It’s no secret that I’m a huge Stephen Fry fan, but so far I’ve only read one of his books. Making History was brilliant, very cleverly written, so I would love to read more of Stephen’s books. I do still have his autobiography, which I started reading some years back but still haven’t finished. Perhaps I should start that one again.
  • Orhan Pamuk
    I read My Name is Red a couple of years ago, and people are right to call it a masterpiece. It’s so well written and engaging, which is why I was so disappointed when I tried to read The Silent House and it just didn’t manage to hold my attention for more than a few pages. But I do want to read more of his works. I might give The Museum of Innocence a go next.
  • Azar Nafisi
    After reading Reading Lolita in Tehran, which I loved, here’s to hoping she’ll write more!
  • Dawn French
    She’s one of my favourite comedians, and her debut novel A Tiny Bit Marvellous was, for lack of a better word, marvellous. So funny, and it left me wanting more. Dawn has since published another novel, Oh Dear Silvia, which is still on my wishlist.

 

Which author(s) would you want to read more of?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (19)

    1. And the same goes for me, glad to hear I’m not the only one! I don’t know what it is about the story, but it just didn’t do it for me. I appreciate the work he put into it though, and it wasn’t badly written or anything. It just wasn’t for me. Which of his books are you considering reading next?

  1. You changed your blog theme Philippa! I really like it 🙂 Ahaha can you believe that I haven’t read anything John Green since I finished TFIOS? I haven’t even gone back to read Looking For Alaska because I’m afraid that I would just get pissed off at the pretentious characters and want to chuck the book towards the wall. I feel like his books might be books that I just find good at a certain phase? Does that make sense? I hadn’t heard of The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul until you mentioned it, I want to check it out sometime!

    hope you get to read all of the books Philippa!!

    1. Glad you like the new theme Savindi! I thought it was time for a change, and I have to say I’m pretty happy with it as well. I just don’t know what to do with John Green to be honest. Like you I wasn’t too sure about TFiOS and I’m just not sure if I should read more of his books, though I would like to give him another chance. The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul is a lovely little book. I read it at a time when I was going through a rough patch and couldn’t really manage to read anything too tasking, and this was just a perfect read at that time. I think you might like it as well!

Leave a Reply

