Top Ten Tuesday (20)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

Well I guess this is my first and last TTT of October. I’ve been away for most of the month, but I’m back just in time for a great one, because this week’s topic is: Top Ten Books/Movies To Read Or Watch To Get In The Halloween Spirit. Now we don’t traditionally celebrate Halloween the way they do in North America, but in the past few years it’s become pretty popular all around Europe, and I have to say I quite like it as well. So here are my favourite books to read and films to watch to get into that spooky Halloween spirit.

Books

  • Bram Stoker – Dracula
    I guess this one’s a bit of an obvious choice, but I just really love it and for me it’s the only vampire novel that matters. Just spooky enough to get you in the right mood.
  • Emile Brontë – Wuthering Heights
    Perhaps this one isn’t spooky in any Halloween-y kind of way, but its gothic character gives it the right kind of atmosphere in my opinion.
  • Lewis Carroll – Alice in Wonderland
    It’s not so much the atmosphere of the book in this case, but it might give you some pretty cool ideas for a costume!
  • Henry James – The Turn of the Screw
    It’s been a while since I read this, but it’s a pretty scary one so perfect for Halloween.

Halloween-Hero-1-H

Films

  • Hocus Pocus
    This is possibly my favourite Halloween film. I loved it as a child and I still love it a lot. A must-watch for Halloween.
  • Addams Family Values
    Or any of the Addams family episodes/films. Again this is something I used to love as a child and still enjoy watching.
  • Harry Potter
    Any of them, or have a marathon and watch them all. I don’t think this needs any further explanation.
  • Scary Movie
    Again, any of them. They’re silly, but a lot of fun.

Or you could of course watch a proper scary Horror film this Halloween. It’s not for me, but I know loads of people who would enjoy that.

Do you have any particular books or films to get you into the spirit of Halloween? Let me know and leave a comment down below.

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (20)

    1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Yeah it’s been ages since I watched any of the HP films, so I might start my rewatch for Halloween. Or perhaps I should continue my re-read of the books (or both!).

Leave a Reply

