On My Bookshelf (11)

In this feature I showcase books that remain on my shelf, unread and impatiently waiting to be picked up.

onmybookshelf

I’ve got a problem, and it’s one that will be familiar to many book lovers and especially book bloggers. I’m a book hoarder, and the more books I own, the more I want to buy. This condition has resulted in me running out of space for my books, and having to resort to taking up loads of my parents’ shelves, as well as keeping stacks of books on my bedroom floor. The fact that I’ve got a staggering 520 books listed as “to read” on Goodreads doesn’t really help either. So it’s no surprise that I’ve still got a lot of unread books lying around.

This time I’ve chosen A Dangerous Inheritance by Alison Weir. It’s no secret that I love historical fiction, and Alison Weir is one of my favourite writers of the genre. The fact that she’s an historian and publishes historical non-fiction as well, gives her works of fiction just that little bit extra, and one thing you can be sure of is that the novels will be as historically accurate as possible. In addition to this I think her style of writing is very pleasant to read, so I’m sure that once I get to it I will enjoy reading it.

12959266

Synopsis
England’s Tower of London was the terrifying last stop for generations of English political prisoners. A Dangerous Inheritance weaves together the lives and fates of four of its youngest and most blameless: Lady Katherine Grey, Lady Jane’s younger sister; Kate Plantagenet, an English princess who lived nearly a century before her; and Edward and Richard, the boy princes imprisoned by their ruthless uncle, Richard III, never to be heard from again. Across the years, these four young royals shared the same small rooms in their dark prison, as all four shared the unfortunate role of being perceived as threats to the reigning monarch. (Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

