Top Ten Tuesday (21)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s topic is absolutely wonderful, as it’s: Top Ten Characters You Wish Would Get Their OWN Book (minor or just maybe a semi main character you wish a book was from their POV). This is something I think about a lot, so it was an absolute joy to list my favourite characters I wish had their own book. I didn’t manage ten, but in my opinion it’s quality that matters rather than quantity, especially when it comes to your favourite characters. So, in no particular order, here they are:

– Bertie, 44 Scotland Street by Alexander McCall Smith
He’s one of the many characters featured in this series of books, of which I’ve so far only read the first instalment. Bertie is a 5-year-old child prodigy with an extremely neurotic mother, who tries her best to make her child as educated as he can possibly be, but at the same time forces him to do so many things he doesn’t actually want to do. He’d rather be a normal boy. Though he is very intelligent, which makes for the most hilarious and absurd scenarios in the chapters in which he is featured. For instance, at one point he throws a tantrum about not wanting to play the saxophone anymore, but he does so in Italian, which his mother made him learn. And at another point he gets suspended from his nursery for writing graffiti on the bathroom wall (it read “my teacher is a cow” in Italian). He also needs to see a psychiatrist because he set fire to his father’s copy of The Guardian, while he was still reading it. I think a book centred around Bertie and his parents would be hilarious, though maybe it would be a bit much.

– Max, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
I think Max is possibly the most fascinating character in the whole book, and I would love to know exactly what he went through. What would be most interesting would be to read his inner thoughts on, for instance, his time spent living in the Hubermanns’ cellar, and to see his interactions with Liesl from his point of view.

– Ford Prefect & Zaphod Beeblebrox, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
It could either be about one or both of them. I wonder what they got up to during the parts of the books where the story was focused on Arthur Dent. It’s probably hilarious and completely bonkers, and I would love to read something like that.

– Ishraq, The Order of Darkness series by Philippa Gregory
She’s an utterly fascinating character, and so far we, as readers, have learnt so little about her. What we know about Ishraq is that she’s of “Moorish descent”, and that her mother was captured and enslaved by the Turks. She studied in Al-Andalus (Islamic Spain), and is well-versed in languages, sciences, and martial arts. A book about her backstory is something I would enjoy reading.

– Armande, Chocolat by Joanne Harris
She’s quite a character, and I wonder what she was like in her younger years, and how she came to be the woman she is in the novel. I also wonder what might’ve happened to her, what kind of life she’s had, and how her daughter came to be the polar opposite of her mother. I don’t think people appreciate the character of Armande enough, but I think she’s a really interesting character.

Do you have any favourite (minor) characters who you wish had their own book? Let me know in the comments.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (21)

  1. I really liked Max as a character too! He was definitely a person I really wanted to know more about. I would have loved to know more about his life before coming to Liesel’s household!

  2. Well, I haven’t read any of these books but you sure have made me want to read them! 🙂 I have recently bought The Book Thief and Chocolat so I am looking forward those. The Order of Darkness series sounds so interesting – I have added the first book to my tbr! Sorry that I couldn’t comment on your choices, but thank you for the recommendations 🙂 x

    1. Well I’m glad you found them useful as reading suggestions! The Book Thief and Chocolat are both amazing books, and the Order of Darkness series is pretty good as well. Hope you enjoy them, and drop me a message if you ever feel like discussing any of them! 🙂

  3. I’m really intrigued by 44 Scotland Street – it seems different from the types of stories I’m usually drawn to, but I just might have to check it out. Also, I love Philippa Gregory but haven’t read her Order of Darkness series yet. I’d be interested to see how she does with YA. Thanks for sharing!

    1. 44 Scotland Street is great. I really loved it, and I’m definitely going to read the other books in the series. For me the fact that it’s set in Edinburgh was a nicely added bonus because I used to live there, so I knew exactly where all the places were that he kept referring to. But even without a knowledge of Edinburgh it’s still a great book to read. Let me know if you decide to give it a go. I’m curious to find out what you think of it. Order of Darkness is a great series as well. Very different than Philippa Gregory’s usual style, but lovely all the same. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

