Book Haul (15)

Hi everyone! So far this week hasn’t been the best of weeks, and it is only Monday. Oh the joy of receiving yet another rejection email. This limbo when you’re no longer a student but not yet in full-time employment either is a weird place to be in, but at least it leaves me loads of time to actually read books. So I’ve got to think positively, right? šŸ˜€

I did buy some really lovely books recently, so I’m going to share these with you now.

81fKXcKlJML._SL1500_

Hilary Mantel – Wolf Hall
I bought this in an adorable second hand bookshop in Elounda, Crete, when I was on holiday there last month. I’d been to that bookshop before and they always have an amazing selection of books, which you wouldn’t expect on a Greek island. I’ve already started reading it and I can see why everyone loves this book so much. So far it’s amazing and really well written.

wintercrown

Elizabeth Chadwick – The Winter Crown
I really couldn’t wait for this book to come out. It’s the second part of a trilogy about Eleanor of Aquitaine – one of my favourite historical characters – and it’s great. The first part, The Summer Queen, is one of my favourite books ever, and if this one’s anything like the first instalment it’s bound to be amazing.

51ANLe4-k2L

Elif Shafak – The Architect’s Apprentice
When I went to a talk by Elif Shafak at the university back in March, she told us about this book which was about to come out, and it sounded like a story I would really enjoy reading. At the time it was only published in Turkish, so I was patiently waiting for the English translation to come out. It was finally released earlier this month, and now that I’ve finally got my copy I can’t wait to start reading it!

So that’s my book haul for now.

Have you bought any new books recently? Leave me a comment and let me know šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Book Haul (15)

  1. Great book haul! I read Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel but then realised it was the second book šŸ˜¦ but I really enjoyed it. I’ve never read anything by Elizabeth Chadwick but I have a feeling that I would enjoy her books, I’m going to check her out on Goodreads! Love the cover of The Architect’s Apprentice!! I’ve read two books by Elif Shafak – The Forty Rules of Love and Honour, which I really enjoyed. How did you find the talk?

    Hope you enjoy these books šŸ™‚

    1. The Forty Rules of Love and Honour are both great books. But so far my favourite Elif Shafak book is The Bastard of Istanbul, so I definitely recommend that one as well. I’d never read any Elizabeth Chadwick before this trilogy either, but I absolutely adore her writing style so I’ll definitely be reading more of her in the future.

Leave a Reply

