Happy 2015

Happy-New-Year-2015-Wallpaper-02
Credit: http://funmozar.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/12/Happy-New-Year-2015-Wallpaper-02.jpg

Yes I’m late to the party, but only by 2 weeks (we’re still allowed to wish people a happy new year, right?). I would like to wish everyone a lot of love, health, happiness, and plenty of great reads to go round this year. And on a personal note, I hope I’ll be able to get a lot more reading done than I did in 2014.

There are many reasons why I’ve been absent again for a while. We had a big, busy family Christmas, and we decided to have a ban on laptops, iPads and smartphones outside the bedrooms, so we could have some proper family time together. And it was actually quite nice! And I’ve also been busy making a lot of other preparations, because I’m leaving for Iceland next Monday (the 19th). I’m going there to work for a few month and I’m really excited. I’ve always wanted to visit Iceland, and now I’m finally getting the chance to do so.

So I know I’m going to be very busy in the next few months, but I’ll be bringing my Kindle so I hope I’ll be able to squeeze in some much needed reading time as well. We’ll see how it goes.

And as for looking back to 2014: it was a strange year for me with lots of ups and downs. I was super busy which didn’t leave a lot of time for reading. I had initially set my reading goal to 50, but I soon realised that this was way too much. So I brought it down to 30, but I didn’t even manage that. In the end I read 27 books which, considering how busy I’ve been with my master’s, isn’t all that bad. I’ve set my goal for this year at 50 again, so here’s to hoping I will be able to reach it this time.

Graduating was absolutely one of the highlights of 2014, but apart from that it wasn’t one of my better years. So here’s to hoping that this’ll change in 2015!

While I’m getting settled in Iceland my posts might be few and far between, but I will try my best to keep things going. And for those of you who are interested in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) I’ve got another reading suggestion. Two of my uni friends started a blog called Al Miraah, filled with news items, book reviews, and reflections about the MENA region, to which I try to make a regular contribution as well. So if that sounds interesting to you, go check it out!

So that’s all from me for now, and I hope 2015 got off to a good start for everyone!

Did you make any resolutions, bookish or otherwise, for 2015?

2 thoughts on “Happy 2015

  1. Oh my gosh, I almost forgot that you were leaving today for Iceland! I hope you have a fantastic time there! Make sure you post some beautiful pictures when you have the time and also send me your address :). I feel like a lot of people were ready for 2014 to end. So many people found it to be a difficult year, so I hope 2015 will be much better for you and for everyone else! Thank you for being such a wonderful friend Philippa! ❤

    1. I’m so sorry for the late reply to this, but I’ve had a pretty hectic few weeks. I’ll tell you more about it later, but basically what happened is that I did go to Iceland, but I only ended up staying 2.5 weeks because I just did not enjoy it at all. I arrived back home 2 days ago and I’m so glad to be home. Hope you’ve been keeping well ❤

Leave a Reply

