To Read in 2015

One of the things I love about the start of a new year is making a list of books I absolutely want to read that year. I never stick to my list completely, because I always discover new books and have impulse buys and things like that, but I do try to follow my list and aim to read as many of the books that I put on it. I’ve challenged myself to read 50 books this year, which I know is doable, but I’m not going to stress out about it. The list I’ve composed so far doesn’t contain 50 books (far from it!), but these are the ones I absolutely want to read.

In addition to this I’m going to try and read as many books that I already own and try to buy fewer books this year. The former won’t be a big problem, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do the latter (but I will try!). But that’s the fun of reading goals: you set yourself a few aims, and while you try to reach them there’s no obligation. So, without further ado, here are the books I’ve listed as ‘to read in 2015’ so far:

1144601379876106931611295926613337716

898216617962135733961103556

703636517851885908673678215

Naguib Mahfouz – Palace Walk
Randa Abdel-Fattah – Does My Head Look Big In This?
Eliza Griswold – The Tenth Parallel: Dispatches from the Faultline between Christianity and Islam
Alison Weir – A Dangerous Inheritance
George R.R. Martin – A Dance With Dragons Part 2: After the Feast
Ahdaf Soueif – The Map of Love
Orhan Pamuk – The Museum of Innocence
Joanne Harris – A Cat, a Hat, and a Piece of String
Alaa Al-Aswany – The Yacoubian Building
Alexander McCall Smith – The Kalahari Typing School for Men
Douglas Adams – Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency
Malala Yousafzai – I Am Malala
Gareth Roberts – The Well-Mannered War
Gareth Roberts – The English Way of Death

Do you ever make reading lists? And more importantly, do you stick to them?

10 thoughts on “To Read in 2015

  1. I have Does My Head Look Big In This on my list as well! My best friend loves it and recommended it to me, so I’m really determined to read it this year! Ohhh I have a copy of The Map of Love. We had to read it in my Post-Colonial Lit class but, I never did. I had such a horrible prof for it lol. But maybe I’ll get around to it. Hope you’re having a good time in Iceland 🙂

  2. I have “Does My Head Look Big in This?” at home, only in Arabic! It’s titled ما رأيكم” “في شكلي الآن (En: What is your opinion of how I look now?)

    It’s untouched at this point however.

  3. sarahgoodbooks

    I’ve owned The Map of Love for over a year so I really need to read that sometime soon! Maybe we could buddy read 😀 I also really want to read something by Naguib Mahfouz – I think Palace Walk seems like the best place to start.
    Best of luck with your reading goals 😀 I love to write lists and set goals, but as long as I’m enjoying the books, then I don’t worry if I don’t reach my targets.

Leave a Reply

