A Slight Change of Plan

I guess what the last few weeks have taught me is that you can plan all you like, but sometimes things just go differently than you had hoped. My intention was to go to Iceland to work, and stay for a minimum of three months. But shortly after arriving I already started to realise that I wasn’t enjoying myself. I won’t to into too much details about why exactly, because it just wouldn’t be interesting ,but I wasn’t really happy about the kind of work I was doing, and I didn’t feel very safe doing it either (I was expected to work with very young, mostly untrained horses). I decided to stick it out for a little longer and hope for the best. I don’t like giving up something once I’ve started, because I prefer to see things through until the end. But after nearly two weeks I realised that I had to be honest to myself and face up to the fact that it just wasn’t working.

So, to cut a long story short, 2.5 weeks after leaving for Iceland I’m back home again. Even though I didn’t stay nearly as long as originally intended, it’s still another thing that I got to experience and I don’t regret doing it.

Now that I’m back home it’s back to what I’ve been doing all along, which is job hunting. Nothing concrete so far, but I’ve been applying to a few things so let’s hope something comes of it. I’ve also decided that I should start getting serious about learning new languages and improving my language skills. I’m still undecided about whether I want to work on improving my German first, or to finally give myself a good kicking and start learning Arabic properly. Maybe I’ll be overly ambitious and try both? (Perhaps not a good idea though).

I’ve also become a contributor over at a really nice blog called Al Miraah (which means ‘the looking glass’ in Arabic). It was created by two of my friends and fellow students at Edinburgh University, and it covers anything about and related to the Middle East and North Africa (MENA region). So if you’re interested in any of that, do go and check it out.

So that’s my life update. More soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Slight Change of Plan

  1. I’m sorry to hear about things in Iceland not working out :(. That environment doesn’t sound like a safe one-especially when you’re working with animals. But I’m glad you got to explore Iceland a bit! Al Miraah looks like a fantastic blog! I’ll post this in the facebook group of the Middle East Scholar’s Society from my University. Good Luck for the job hunt! I hope you get something soon :).

    1. Yeah it’s a real shame, I was so looking forward to spending a few months there and getting to experience a completely different kind of life. I guess I’ll just have to go back there someday for a holiday so I can explore properly, because unfortunately I didn’t get to see that much of the country. And thanks for spreading the word, I really appreciate it. It’s a great blog and I’m very happy to be a part of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

