Book Haul (16)

So lately I’ve been trying to stop myself from buying too many books, and instead focus on the books I already own. I’ve been doing pretty well if I may say so myself and I went for months without buying any new books. But when I went to the Netherlands a few weeks ago to visit family and friends I have to admit I caved and ended up buying two new books. In my defence though, one’s a second hand book and the other one a Dutch book which would’ve been difficult to get hold of otherwise, so I feel that, in this instance, it was okay to buy new books.

The first book I bought is The Man Who Listens to Horses by Monty Roberts, the real-life horse whisperer. I’ve admired him for years for the way he treats horses and the remarkable way he’s managed to learn the ‘language of horses’. I’m reading it at the moment and it’s so inspiring. I would love to buy a young horse sometime in the near future, and when I do I will definitely be using his method to train my horse.

I bought this at the second-hand book market in the centre of Amsterdam, and I only paid €4 for it so it was a great bargain!

8515

The second book I bought is Papegaai Vloog over de IJssel by Kader Abdolah. It’s his latest book and hasn’t been translated into English yet, so unfortunately I can’t give you the English title. A few months back I wrote a review for one of his other books, The King, which you can find here. I’m really looking forward to reading this new one, because so far I’ve loved everything he’s written and I’m hoping this one will be just as enjoyable to read.

9789044625820

I’m really going to try to make myself read both these books before I even think about buying any new ones, so the next book haul might not be for a while yet (but who knows?).

Have you bought any exciting new titles recently?

4 thoughts on “Book Haul (16)

  1. Both of your books sounds great Phillipa! I’m waiting to get my copy of Malice by Keigo Higashino. It’s a Japanese murder mystery which seems really interesting and thrilling. Also I wanted to ask you, I found this recipe to make Lahmacun https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_zVdk7WNBkU and I was wondering if you think I could substitute Beef or Lamb for Turkey meat instead since I don’t eat the other two. Oh and another thing, this recipe leaves the Lahmacun in the oven for 6 minutes…I don’t think that’s enough to cook meat lol. Do you think it would be okay to leave it longer?

    1. I’m so sorry for this late reply, but somehow I never got a notification for your comment! It’s probably too late now, but I think you can definitely substitute beef or lamb for turkey mince. I don’t really see why not. It might need a bit longer to cook as well yeah, I’d say just eyeball it and take it out when you think it’s ready 🙂

Leave a Reply

