2016 End of Year Book Survey

This wonderful survey was created by Jamie over at The Perpetual Page-Turner, and it offers a great insight into and overview of your year in books.

Sadly I didn’t read that many books this year, so I hope my survey isn’t too repetitive. The problem is that I just didn’t have that many titles to choose from!

If you’d like to participate in this survey you can. Just make sure to give credit to Jamie, and you can also link back to your survey over on her blog.

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738
© The Perpetual Page-Turner

So, without further ado, here’s my bookish survey of 2016

Stats
Number Of Books You Read: 16
Number of Re-Reads: 0
Genre You Read The Most From: Crime Fiction

Best in Books
1. Best Book You Read In 2016?
Half of a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Hands down the best read of 2016. It’s beautifully written and tragic and unputdownable and I could go on. Read it if you haven’t already!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
The Autumn Throne – Elizabeth Chadwick. I loved the previous 2 installments so much that I was counting down the days to the release of this one. I’ve not finished it yet and should definitely do so in 2017, but I didn’t nearly enjoy it as much as the other two.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?
Jackdaws – Ken Follett. One of my colleagues brought it into work with him one day and gave it to me, because he’d just finished reading it and said I would definitely enjoy it too. I’d never heard of the book before, but started reading it that day and finished it within 2 days. It was a brilliant read and I wasn’t expecting it at all, which is why it’s the most surprising book I read this year.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?
Half of a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?
The Millennium Trilogy – Stieg Larsson. Read all three of them in 2016

6. Favourite new author you discovered in 2016?
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. Technically I’d already read ‘We Should All Be Feminists’ in 2015, but I only started reading her novels this year.

7.Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Doctor Who: Theatre of Way – Justin Richards. I don’t read a lot of sci-fi, but I really enjoyed this one.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
The Millennium Trilogy – Stieg Larsson. Yes, all three of them were unputdownable.

9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
I generally try not to re-read books because there are so many new books that I still want to read. But if I had to choose it would probably be Half of a Yellow Sun or Americanah.

10. Favourite cover of a book you read in 2016?
Someday, Someday Maybe – Lauren Graham, because I cycled over the Brooklyn Bridge this Spring and it was awesome.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?
Lisbeth Salander

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?
Half of a Yellow Sun

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?
Americanah and Long Walk to Freedom

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?
A Long Walk to Freedom, simply because I’d had it on my shelf for at least 4 years.

15. Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?
“If you don’t understand, ask questions. If you’re uncomfortable about asking questions, say you are uncomfortable about asking questions and then ask anyway. It’s easy to tell when a question is coming from a good place. Then listen some more. Sometimes people just want to feel heard. Here’s to possibilities of friendship and connection and understanding.”
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Americanah
“Friendship- my definition- is built on two things. Respect and trust. Both elements have to be there. And it has to be mutual. You can have respect for someone, but if you don’t have trust, the friendship will crumble.”
Stieg Larsson, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?
Shortest: Romeo and Juliet in Palestine: Teaching Under Occupation – Tom Sperlinger, 157 pages
Longest: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson, 746 pages

17. Book That Shocked You The Most
Half of a Yellow Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I’d heard of the Biafran War before but I didn’t really know anything about it. So this book was a real eye-opener in that sense, and also really shocked me because I had no idea what had gone on during that war.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
Ifemelu and Obinze (Americanah)

19. Favourite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Mikael Blomkvist and Lisbeth Salander, if that counts? I mean, I was mainly invested in their friendship/partnership/mutual respect for one another, rather than the fact that they did sleep together occasionally.

20. Favourite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
Espresso Tales – Alexander McCall Smith, for the very simple fact that out of the books I’ve read this year he’s the only author I’d read prior to 2016.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
A lot of people pressured me into reading the Millennium Trilogy, and I’m so glad they did

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?
To be honest I don’t have one

23. Best 2016 debut you read?
None of the books I finished this year were published in 2016

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
Both Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Chinua Achebe are really good at worldbuilding, so I’d say it’s a tie between Half of a Yellow Sun and Things Fall Apart.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
Someday, Someday Maybe by Lauren Graham was so much fun to read. Lauren Graham is wonderful and hilarious, which really seeps through in her writing.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?
Half of a Yellow Sun definitely made me cry

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
I don’t feel like any of the books I read this year qualify as a ‘hidden gem’

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
Half of a Yellow Sun

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?
Someday, Someday Maybe, because it was partly written in the form of a diary

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Long Walk to Freedom, I guess for obvious reasons. I’ve read a lot about Apartheid in the past, but seeing it all described again in quite vivid details made me really mad.

Looking Ahead
1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?
I recently bought Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, which will for sure be one of my first reads in the new year.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?
Three Daughters of Eve by Elif Shafak, which is coming out in February.

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
I wouldn’t say I’m counting down the days to its release, but I’m curious about Veronica Roth’s new novel because it’s her first publication since the Divergent Trilogy.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?
Well I’m keeping my fingers crossed for The Winds of Winter, but I’m not getting my hopes up. It’s George R.R. Martin after all.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?
I really hope I’ll be able to find/make more time to read in 2017, and also to keep up the blogging more regularly.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
I’ve not read any 2017 releases yet.

Leave a Reply

