Top Ten Tuesday (25)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where you can list any kind of top 10 that is related to books, authors, and reading in general.

TTT3W

This week’s topic is Top Ten Underrated/Hidden Gem Books You’ve Read In The Past Year Or So.

I’ve noticed that the guys over at The Broke and the Bookish chose to select books they read that have 500 reviews or fewer on Goodreads. Since only a few books I read in the last year meet these criteria, I’ve included a few of my 2015 reads.

1
Romeo and Juliet in Palestine: Teaching Under Occupation by Tom Sperlinger
It offers an interesting insight into the daily life of students in the occupied territories, and because it’s a relatively short one it’s a good option for someone who doesn’t have the time to commit to a longer book.

678156

Doctor Who: Theatre of War – Justin Richards
Great book for Whovians, especially if you love the 7th Doctor/Ace/Bernice Summerfield Tardis team. And if you don’t want to read it, might I recommend the excellent audio drama adaptation of the book?

17680275

Memoirs of an Early Arab Feminist by Anbara Salam Khalidi
I had never heard of her before this book came up in my amazon recommendations, and I’m so glad it did! Very interesting and refreshing.

17456958

The Boleyn Deceit by Laura Andersen
The second installment of a trilogy exploring the question “what if Anne Boleyn had had a healthy son?” An interesting question, because Tudor history could have potentially panned out very differently.

walking_to_babylon

Walking to Babylon by Kate Orman
10th installment of the Bernice Summerfield Virign New Adventures series, published throughout the 90s. And again, if you don’t fancy reading it I can highly recommend the audio dramatisation 😉

So, this TTT has made me realise that most of the stuff I read (or at least what I have read in the past two years), has been rather popular. This won’t necessarily influence the choices I’ll make for future reads, but it is interesting to know.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (25)

Leave a Reply

